alias help

The UnrealIRCd team does not officially provide support for any services packages that you may be using or want to use. This forum is provided so the community can help each other with services issues.

Moderator: Supporters

Locked
TheMenaCe
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:45 pm

alias help

Post by TheMenaCe »

Hello guys.
I want in my server to be able to use commands /os /ns /cs . By default they are not operating (thus i have to type /operserv /nickserv /chanserv etc).

I tryed to add a line like

alias ns { type services; };

in my unrealircd.conf but all that happened is that when i type /ns help (or other command) it says:
Services are currently down. Please try again later.

while services are not down for real. So my alias is a fail. Do you know what i have to do to solve this? thanks so much.
katsklaw
Official supporter
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: alias help

Post by katsklaw »

I'm going to assume you use Anope here, if you dont then we can talk about the differences.

Try adding: include "aliases\anope.conf"; to your unrealircd.conf

This question gets asked a lot so later I'll write a tutorial on the topic so it can be pinned and referenced later. there is also a search feature in the top right corner that you should use before creating new threads. This helps prevent the same question from being asked over and over. thanx ;)
TheMenaCe
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:45 pm

Re: alias help

Post by TheMenaCe »

i tryed to include the file you said but it says:

*** Notice -- Loading IRCd configuration ..
*** Notice -- error: Couldn't open "aliasesanope.conf": No such file or directory
*** Notice -- error: Could not load config file aliasesanope.conf
*** Notice -- error: IRCd configuration failed to load
-

I think that thats because the file name is wrong. Then i tried to include:

include "aliases/aliases.conf" which i think is what you ment before (because such a file existed and its name was similar to what you said) and with that file it loads normaly , but it doesnt work again.. its like nothing happens! Thanks for your interest!!

PS: I do use Anope services.
Casper
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:44 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: alias help

Post by Casper »

Katsklaw said it right: "include "aliases\anope.conf"; ", you just typed it wrong in the unrealircd.conf, but that's all good. Now you did it right.

If it doesn't work, check the following:

- Are the services actually linked? (/links on IRC to check it out)
- Are you U:Lines set correctly? (*Help about U:Lines)
- Is the services-server set correctly? (*Help about set-block)

Please report back to us once you have tried, adjusted and tested the above recommendations.
Ex Network-Administrator
TheMenaCe
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:45 pm

Re: alias help

Post by TheMenaCe »

Casper and Katsklaw , first of all i am really greatful for your support. Here are the answers to your questions:

- Are the services actually linked? (/links on IRC to check it out) -> yes , both the real and the services server apear on /links

- Are you U:Lines set correctly? (*Help about U:Lines) -> In the Ulines block i have services and stats servers added. Also, my services work as they should be working , except for the fact that they dont respond to /os /ns /cs .-

Is the services-server set correctly? (*Help about set-block) -> In this part i dont know if its configured correctly so i will paste the file from my shell so you can see:set {
kline-address "kline@unet.gr";
modes-on-connect "+ixw";
modes-on-oper "+xwgs";
oper-auto-join "#opers";
dns {
nameserver 127.0.0.1;
timeout 2s;
retries 2;
};
options {
hide-ulines;
/* You can enable ident checking here if you want */
/* identd-check; */
show-connect-info;
};

maxchannelsperuser 10;

anti-spam-quit-message-time 10s;
/* Make the message in static-quit show in all quits - meaning no
custom quits are allowed on local server */
/* static-quit "Client quit"; */

/* You can also block all part reasons by uncommenting this and say 'ye$
* or specify some other text (eg: "Bye bye!") to always use as a comme$
/* static-part yes; */

/* This allows you to make certain stats oper only, use * for all stats,
* leave it out to allow users to see all stats. Type '/stats' for a fu$
* Some admins might want to remove the 'kGs' to allow normal users to $
* klines, glines and shuns.
*/
oper-only-stats "okfGsMRUEelLCXzdD";

/* Throttling: this example sets a limit of 3 connection attempts per 6$
* leave it out to allow users to see all stats. Type '/stats' for a fu$
* Some admins might want to remove the 'kGs' to allow normal users to $
* klines, glines and shuns.
*/
oper-only-stats "okfGsMRUEelLCXzdD";

/* Throttling: this example sets a limit of 3 connection attempts per 6$
throttle {
connections 3;
period 60s;
};

/* Anti flood protection */
anti-flood {
nick-flood 3:60; /* 3 nickchanges per 60 seconds (the de$
};
/* Spam filter */
spamfilter {
ban-time 1d; /* default duration of a *line ban set by spamfilt$
ban-reason "Spam/Advertising"; /* default reason */
virus-help-channel "#help"; /* channel to use for 'viruschan' a$
/* except "#help"; channel to exempt from filtering */
};
};


Thank you again.
TheMenaCe
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:45 pm

Re: alias help

Post by TheMenaCe »

faulse alarm . Seems like now it works:

I replaced:

include "aliases/aliases.conf" with include "aliases/anope.conf" --> seems like they were different. Also , the only mistake of Katsklaw was that he said include "aliases\anope.conf" (\/ difference).

Guys i am most thankful for your support. You are the best! thanks!
Casper
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:44 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: alias help

Post by Casper »

Just as a side note here. He wasn't wrong. He assumed you were working on a Linux-box (most do). You appear to be working on Windows, so that's difference in slashes.
Ex Network-Administrator
Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Re: alias help

Post by Stealth »

Just a side-side note... Unreal should translate file paths using / to \ on Windows. :)
Casper
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:44 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: alias help

Post by Casper »

Every day is a good day for learning new features lol.

Thanks ;-)
Ex Network-Administrator
Locked