Help Installing IRCD

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
skafia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 8:13 pm

Help Installing IRCD

Post by skafia »

I know I sound like a n00b but I have no freakin idea where to start. I have a dedicated server and I need to install it remotely, I've searched and read the FAQ but I really don't know where to begin.

My remote server has Redhat installed and I can SSH into it. Thanks in advance for anyone who can guide me into the general direction!
skafia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 8:13 pm

Post by skafia »

Okay, just read a thread that kinda explains how to do it, I just gotta figure out how to remotely compile & run programs...
skafia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 8:13 pm

Post by skafia »

Okay, I extracted the files to my root directory and I connect via SSH to the server and when I type in "./Config" to configure the server it says Permission Denied.
suffolk
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:33 pm
Location: east anglia

Post by suffolk »

Hi im john "recently new" to ircd programing,
I'm really proud i have got so far yet not complete unreal3.2.3 is remotely hosted
I have tried to work this out my self as i like a chalenge
I'm am disabled (luekeamia) and my sights not to good hock: "must not get stressed hmm"
alass i need a little help from a good willed person who could help me sort a couple of problems left as my eye's are not at
John says:
my best at this time
I have tried not to ask for help
I have done setup "make" finally through most of config

[error] ERROR: No cloaking module loaded.

tail: /usr/home/*******/Unreal3.2/ircd.log: No such file or directory
*********:~/Unreal3.2$ ./load cloak.so
-bash: ./load: No such file or directory

if its poss someone could help me out as i think ive earned a little help after the
John says:
big challenge ive had its been great
regards john
Shelluser
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 8:30 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Shelluser »

skafia wrote:Okay, I extracted the files to my root directory and I connect via SSH to the server and when I type in "./Config" to configure the server it says Permission Denied.
Better ask your administrator first. Its not unlikely that he doesn't allow the use of executables, resulting in you being unable to start anything.
With kind regards, Peter

NekoNet IRC
www.neko-net.org / [url=irc://irc.neko-net.org:6667]irc.neko-net.org[/url]
Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2085
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth »

If it said something like

Code: Select all

-bash: ./Config: Permission denied
Then that means it did not extract correctly. To properly extract it, you must extract the files on the server itself. If you dont, the permissions get changed, and you cant ./Config if it does not have the excecute permission.
skafia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 8:13 pm

Post by skafia »

Okay, I used the tar command in PUTTY and I am able to configure and compile the server, okay, IRCd seems to run just fine but now I can't figure out how to connect to the server.

Since I haven't setup a new DNS entry yet, I'm trying to connect to my IP and mIRC just says connection timed out.
Solutech
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:38 pm

Post by Solutech »

suffolk wrote:Hi im john "recently new" to ircd programing,
I'm really proud i have got so far yet not complete unreal3.2.3 is remotely hosted
I have tried to work this out my self as i like a chalenge
I'm am disabled (luekeamia) and my sights not to good hock: "must not get stressed hmm"
alass i need a little help from a good willed person who could help me sort a couple of problems left as my eye's are not at
John says:
my best at this time
I have tried not to ask for help
I have done setup "make" finally through most of config

[error] ERROR: No cloaking module loaded.

tail: /usr/home/*******/Unreal3.2/ircd.log: No such file or directory
*********:~/Unreal3.2$ ./load cloak.so
-bash: ./load: No such file or directory

if its poss someone could help me out as i think ive earned a little help after the
John says:
big challenge ive had its been great
regards john

Check the path to the cloak.so file . very likely a typo hence it cant find the file .
Yawn. So there's yet another "if the user clicks the button, they're infected" exploit. Why is this news? We already know users are idiots.
suffolk
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:33 pm
Location: east anglia

Post by suffolk »

Still cannot find it, i wonder if its correct version
skafia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 8:13 pm

Post by skafia »

Man I've tried everything and I still cant get the server to connect!
w00t
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:31 am
Location: Nowra, Australia

Post by w00t »

Any news on whether a firewall is active skafia? ;)
-ChatSpike IRC Network [http://www.chatspike.net]
-Denora Stats [http://denora.nomadirc.net]
-Omerta [http://www.barafranca.com]
suffolk
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 10:33 pm
Location: east anglia

Post by suffolk »

:oops: Well i've gone over it several times it must be staring me in the eyes. I checked it is in correct place src/modules/cloak.so
---------------------
* Loading IRCd configuration ..
[error] ERROR: No cloaking module loaded. (hint: you probably want to load cloak.so)
-------------------
/* FOR *NIX, uncomment the following 2lines: */

//loadmodule "src/modules/commands.so";
//loadmodule "src/modules/cloak.so";

cloak-keys {
"aoAr1HnR6gl3sJ7hVz4Zb7x4YwpW";
"qF5D3ormaH6mnEvbaH226lfEhjf";
"hfA6HwFh53HedOwQg9Ufs";

};
skafia
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 8:13 pm

Post by skafia »

Alright, woohoo! I got a reply back from the administrators and they said there was an active firewall and port 6667 wasn't open. They opened it and the server works now!

Now, onto another question, I'm trying to add an ops and I have the following:

Code: Select all

oper skafia {
        class clients;
        from {
                userhost "[email protected]";
        };
        password "xxxxxx";
        flags
        {
                netadmin;
                can_zline;
                can_gzline;
                can_gkline;
                global;
        };
};
But when I connect and give myself ops, it won't work :(
Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2085
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth »

You can't have your nick as part of the host.

Start with a very broad host

Code: Select all

*@*
Then something a little more restrictive

Code: Select all

*@*.snbrca.adelphia.net
Then something a little more restrictive than that

Code: Select all

god@*.snbrca.adelphia.net
Hints:
  1. You don't want to use your full IP with your host. Unless you pay extra for a static IP, your IP isn't static.
  2. Put a * in front of your ident if you have identd enabled. This will still allow you to oper if an identd request didn't make it through for some reason.
Solutech
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:38 pm

Post by Solutech »

suffolk wrote::oops: Well i've gone over it several times it must be staring me in the eyes. I checked it is in correct place src/modules/cloak.so
---------------------
* Loading IRCd configuration ..
[error] ERROR: No cloaking module loaded. (hint: you probably want to load cloak.so)
-------------------
/* FOR *NIX, uncomment the following 2lines: */

//loadmodule "src/modules/commands.so";
//loadmodule "src/modules/cloak.so";

cloak-keys {
"aoAr1HnR6gl3sJ7hVz4Zb7x4YwpW";
"qF5D3ormaH6mnEvbaH226lfEhjf";
"hfA6HwFh53HedOwQg9Ufs";

};
Ah . .....

loadmodule "src/modules/commands.so";
loadmodule "src/modules/cloak.so";

try that instead ;)


and I'd change your cloak keys as well as you posted them up :)
Yawn. So there's yet another "if the user clicks the button, they're infected" exploit. Why is this news? We already know users are idiots.
Post Reply