TS Problem

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
cculha
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:16 am

TS Problem

Post by cculha » Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:36 pm

[23:32] -ren.geyik.net- *** Server=ren.geyik.net TStime=1128868132 time()=1128889912 TSoffset=-21778
-
[23:32] -super.geyik.net- *** Server=super.geyik.net TStime=1128868135 time()=1128868135 TSoffset=0


it has written from my links /tsctl alltime


the server sometimes says me the classic u:line tstime timediff -21778 msg.

and always the users in the other link sometimes (once for a day) all the users ping timeouted and reconnect.

how can i fix the problem. how can i sync the clocks.... please tell me the RIGHT resolving!

Jason
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Jason » Sun Oct 09, 2005 11:48 pm

You have a couple options. Heres the best one.

Sync your server's clocks! The time on your computer is today. The time on the other computer is yesterday. Or something like this.
Why the hell can't my signature be empty?
"Your message contains too few characters."

Moogey
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 9:08 pm

Post by Moogey » Mon Oct 10, 2005 12:59 am

I think unreal should support a clock offset option for servers so the clocks don't need to be changed but they can have an 'offset' so they match. Don't think this exists...

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth » Mon Oct 10, 2005 1:46 am

Moogey wrote:I think unreal should support a clock offset option for servers so the clocks don't need to be changed but they can have an 'offset' so they match. Don't think this exists...
You need to read some docs :)
The command is TSCTL, but should not be used by people who do not know what they are doing. It should also not be used for large time differences.

cculha
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:16 am

Post by cculha » Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:38 am

ok thats please tell me how can i sync my clocks.??? everytime the links are disconnected. how can i do that.. i don't have the dedicated. i have only shell.

Psadi
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:50 pm

Post by Psadi » Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:09 am

Are both shell acounts?

Then I think they are doing a poor job keeping the server running nicly.

You need to ask the server owners if they are updating the systemclock by running NTP. For this large offset they probly need to do a ntpdate first though to set the time correctly. (presume they are running unix/linux)

cculha
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:16 am

Post by cculha » Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:35 am

ok i has given the root access. and this happened




d80-237-140-181:~ # ntpdate
10 Oct 10:32:26 ntpdate[15936]: no servers can be used, exiting
d80-237-140-181:~ #


????????

Psadi
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:50 pm

Post by Psadi » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:11 am

try this

ntpdate pool.ntp.org

you need to provide a server to be used. Pool is a pool of ntp servers that you can zync against.

Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat » Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:45 am

You should really use NTPd, not ntpdate.
The deamon keeps checking and updating the clocks so that they won't drift again.
If you don't make mistakes, you aren't really trying.
- Coleman Hawkins

Psadi
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:50 pm

Post by Psadi » Mon Oct 10, 2005 10:17 am

True Dukat but he was so off in times that ntpd woudnt have fixed it.

Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat » Mon Oct 10, 2005 10:36 am

Yes, you're right... but usually the init.d script for ntpd executes a ntpdate first :wink:
If you don't make mistakes, you aren't really trying.
- Coleman Hawkins

w00t
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:31 am
Location: Nowra, Australia

Post by w00t » Mon Oct 10, 2005 12:17 pm

Uh, guys.. they are already synched.

Look at time() and add/subtrack the offset as necessary to get TSTime, as TSTime on both servers is nice and close together, you're ok.
-ChatSpike IRC Network [http://www.chatspike.net]
-Denora Stats [http://denora.nomadirc.net]
-Omerta [http://www.barafranca.com]

cculha
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:16 am

Post by cculha » Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:40 pm

oh men oh men!

d80-237-140-181:~ # ntpdate pool.ntp.org
10 Oct 16:37:14 ntpdate[4759]: Can't set time of day: Operation not permitted
d80-237-140-181:~ # NTPd
-bash: NTPd: command not found
d80-237-140-181:~ #



please tell me the certain way...


the system is linux...

Psadi
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 7:50 pm

Post by Psadi » Mon Oct 10, 2005 3:58 pm

read up on
man ntp
you must be root to be able to set the time and date. If you are root. Then i´m lost :) since I run FreeBSD

NTPd is probly ntpd as command on your machin Dukat typed it that way to make it stand out (i guess)

cculha
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 1:16 am

Post by cculha » Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:02 pm

i had two machines . and i linked 2 server on them. but the time is incorrect in linux machine /tsctl alltime


[18:59] -ren.geyik.net- *** Server=ren.geyik.net TStime=1128938190 time()=1128959969 TSoffset=-21778
-
[18:59] -super.geyik.net- *** Server=super.geyik.net TStime=1128938194 time()=1128938194 TSoffset=0

ren.geyik.net is linux machine
super.geyik.net is bsd machine

i must sync the clock of the linux. is anyone know the commands or anything please i am waiting...

Locked