How to load modules on Windows?

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
Enlil
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 11:53 am

How to load modules on Windows?

Post by Enlil » Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:19 pm

Well, I have Windows XP and I've downloaded the latets version of UnrealIRCd (the v3.2.3). I installed it, and the runned "wircd", and I got an error:

* Loading IRCd configuration ..
[error] ERROR: No cloaking module loaded. (hint: you probably want to load modules\cloak.dll)
[error] If you are upgrading from 3.2 (or any older version), be sure to read the release notes or http://www.vulnscan.org/tmp/newcloak.txt regarding the cloaking change!
[error] IRCd configuration failed to pass testing


But I don't know at all how to "load modules\cloak.dll" :/

Well, I hope someone will be able to help me :x thanks in advance! :)

Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat » Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:50 pm

You can't just double click on the icon and expect it to work. You have to create a configuration file first.

Read the documentation: http://www.vulnscan.org/UnrealIRCd/unreal32docs.html
(YES, you have to read it all).

Take the example.conf in the doc directory as a starting point to create your own configuration file.
If you don't make mistakes, you aren't really trying.
- Coleman Hawkins

Solutech
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:38 pm

Post by Solutech » Fri Oct 28, 2005 12:58 pm

Firstly this belongs in support not modules .

Now to the problem .

You say you downloaded and installed , So far so good but nowhere do you say you did the configuration of the .conf file .

The cloak.dll should load fine if you have set your cloak keys in the .conf and you uncommented the lines.

Code: Select all

 /* FOR Windows, uncomment the following 2 lines: */
//loadmodule "modules/commands.dll";
//loadmodule "modules/cloak.dll";
so they should llook like this

Code: Select all

/* FOR Windows, uncomment the following 2 lines: */
loadmodule "modules/commands.dll";
loadmodule "modules/cloak.dll";
Check you have set the keys in your set block .

Code: Select all

/* Network configuration */
set {
	network-name 		"ROXnet";
	default-server 		"irc.roxnet.org";
	services-server 	"services.roxnet.org";
	stats-server 		"stats.roxnet.org";
	help-channel 		"#ROXnet";
	hiddenhost-prefix	"rox";
	/* prefix-quit 		"no"; */
	/* Cloak keys should be the same at all servers on the network.
	 * They are used for generating masked hosts and should be kept secret.
	 * The keys should be 3 random strings of 5-100 characters
	 * (10-20 chars is just fine) and must consist of lowcase (a-z),
	 * upcase (A-Z) and digits (0-9) [see first key example].
	 */
	cloak-keys {
		"aoAr1HnR6gl3sJ7hVz4Zb7x4YwpW";
		"and another one";
		"and another one";
	};
	/* on-oper host */
	hosts {
		local		"locop.roxnet.org";
		global		"ircop.roxnet.org";
		coadmin		"coadmin.roxnet.org";
		admin		"admin.roxnet.org";
		servicesadmin 	"csops.roxnet.org";
		netadmin 	"netadmin.roxnet.org";
		host-on-oper-up "no";
	};
};
That ought to get you up and running :)


And Dukat if he just ran it then it gives a different error .

Code: Select all

* Loading IRCd configuration ..
[error] Couldn't open "unrealircd.conf": No such file or directory
[error] Could not load config file unrealircd.conf
[error] IRCd configuration failed to load
Its more likely he just missed something .
Yawn. So there's yet another "if the user clicks the button, they're infected" exploit. Why is this news? We already know users are idiots.

Post Reply