Redirect traffic to random leaf

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
frozen
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 7:39 am

Redirect traffic to random leaf

Post by frozen » Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:25 pm

Is there a setting so the ircd will redirect all clients to a random leaf (after maxclients has been reached of corse).

Jason
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Jason » Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:20 pm

Read the docs to find out about redirection on full clasees. I know its in there, but have never personally needed it.

Have it redirect to a DNS round robin.
Why the hell can't my signature be empty?
"Your message contains too few characters."

frozen
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 7:39 am

Post by frozen » Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:41 pm

My DNS servers don't suppoer RR, why I am looking at the IRCd to do it, and I have read the docs on the config, I see no such option. :(

jewles
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:41 pm
Location: Herndon, VA
Contact:

Post by jewles » Tue Apr 25, 2006 2:15 pm

Frozen: Jason told you to check the class:: block, and i'd check the allow:: block for the answers you seek. I suggest you do that before posting next. I'll even elimitate all the work for you and give you a direct link. Allow :: Block.
FBSD-DEV Project
http://www.fbsd-dev.org

YatesDev Hosting
http://www.yatesdev.com

The Wrong Way
http://www.thewrongway.net

frozen
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 7:39 am

Post by frozen » Tue Apr 25, 2006 7:08 pm

As I said, I have read the docs.

Code: Select all

    redirect-server <server-to-forward-to>;
    redirect-port <port-to-forward-to>;
Will redirect to a server, not a random server.

Jason
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Jason » Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:15 pm

Which is why I reccommended a RR to go with it.

If you cant set up a RR, and none of your friends can, the best you can do is to have each server redirect to another, in a circle. That way users might end up automatically trying a couple servers, but shouldnt get locked out.
Why the hell can't my signature be empty?
"Your message contains too few characters."

Post Reply