How-to hide server names when netsplit occurs ?

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
core
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:51 pm

How-to hide server names when netsplit occurs ?

Post by core » Tue Jul 04, 2006 1:12 am

Hi,

Is there posibility to hide server names from non-opers when netsplit occurs?

for example:

normal users see: "User1 quited (Netsplitted)", opers see: "User1 quited (server1.network.net server2.network.net)"?

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth » Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:52 am

You can't.

Jason
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Jason » Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:41 am

People can find out your network routing other ways anyhow. Did you know /whois is an awesome weapon for this purpose?
Why the hell can't my signature be empty?
"Your message contains too few characters."

core
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 10:51 pm

Post by core » Tue Jul 04, 2006 7:42 am

yes, i know, that is possible to discover server names and how they are connected using /whois, /links, /map, etc.

Just want to know, is there way to hide such things, without modifying the source... Now i know, that is impossible.

White_Magic
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Scotland - United Kingdom

Post by White_Magic » Tue Jul 04, 2006 9:04 pm

i wouldnt say its impossible, (static quit uses a prefixed message as there quit) i dont see why this cant be made to override a netspilt quit message.

but in saying all this, i agree its better not to have this anyway, less codes = less bugs ;)
i spend 4 hrs a day gaming and 14hrs on irc, for 5days a week, im not an addict :D

aquanight
Official supporter
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: Boise, ID

Post by aquanight » Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:34 am

static-quit only overrides /quit given messages. It does not override "error quits" like Ping timeout or netsplit.

Jobe
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Jobe » Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:35 am

White_Magic was saying how he/she could not see a reason why the static quit message cannot override the netsplit quit message apart from the obvious that it's an error. But due to the nature of netsplit quit messages i dont think it would be too bad an idea to have an option for a static netsplit quit message seperate from the normal static quite message.

Just a thought

Post Reply