Restarting server... too many select errors

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Atomiku
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:42 am

Restarting server... too many select errors

Post by Atomiku » Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:46 am

I'm not too sure what the problem is but heres a log of what went happened:

Code: Select all

[09:29] -atomiku.hopto.org- *** Notice -- Maximum connections: 10 (10 clients)
-
[09:29] -atomiku.hopto.org- *** Notice -- Maximum connections: 20 (20 clients)
-
[09:29] -atomiku.hopto.org- *** Notice -- Maximum connections: 30 (30 clients)
-
[09:30] -atomiku.hopto.org- select atomiku.hopto.org[*]:No buffer space available
-
[09:30] -atomiku.hopto.org- select atomiku.hopto.org[*]:No buffer space available
-
[09:30] -atomiku.hopto.org- select atomiku.hopto.org[*]:No buffer space available
-
[09:30] -atomiku.hopto.org- select atomiku.hopto.org[*]:No buffer space available
-
[09:30] -atomiku.hopto.org- select atomiku.hopto.org[*]:No buffer space available
-
[09:30] -atomiku.hopto.org- select atomiku.hopto.org[*]:No buffer space available
-
[09:30] -atomiku.hopto.org- *** Notice -- Aieeeee!!!  Restarting server... too many select errors
And then, the server restarted. I tried changing TcpNumConnections to 1000 in the registry (Yes, I did restart afterwards) but this still happens.
I know it was because of loads of bots connecting. What can I do?

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Jobe1986 » Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:30 am

I know it will probably helps someone out there to help you so can you give us some versions like which version of UnrealIRCd and which operating system and version.

White_Magic
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Scotland - United Kingdom

Post by White_Magic » Sun Aug 06, 2006 12:39 pm

wot is the specifcations of the shell the ircd is running on?
i spend 4 hrs a day gaming and 14hrs on irc, for 5days a week, im not an addict :D

Atomiku
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:42 am

Post by Atomiku » Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:27 pm

The server (3.2.5) is running on Windows Professional SP2
1.2ghz, 512mb ram, 10mbit internet connection...

White_Magic
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Scotland - United Kingdom

Post by White_Magic » Sun Aug 06, 2006 10:39 pm

the last time i saw a case like this, was in dutch and syzop answered it saying its not unrealircds problem, which i quiet blieve myself, as mirc gets the same error msg and its normally coz the ram is all used up or blocked off.

are u running any thing else besides unreal on it? like mirc (or any other program that can use ram to store data)
i spend 4 hrs a day gaming and 14hrs on irc, for 5days a week, im not an addict :D

Atomiku
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:42 am

Post by Atomiku » Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:37 am

Well, yes I run ALOT of programs on this computer. BUT... I'm not sure if its a problem with not having enough ram or anything.

White_Magic
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Scotland - United Kingdom

Post by White_Magic » Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:12 am

run msinfo32.exe and after its loaded u`ll see how much " free memory " there is
i spend 4 hrs a day gaming and 14hrs on irc, for 5days a week, im not an addict :D

Atomiku
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:42 am

Post by Atomiku » Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:55 pm

White_Magic wrote:run msinfo32.exe and after its loaded u`ll see how much " free memory " there is
I'm not quite sure what you're trying to get me to do, But as I said, I think theres plenty of unused memory left while the server is running.

White_Magic
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Scotland - United Kingdom

Post by White_Magic » Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:14 pm

im giving u a method to check the amount of ram that is currently free on the system so u can make sure there IS sufficent ram free.

:)
i spend 4 hrs a day gaming and 14hrs on irc, for 5days a week, im not an addict :D

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Jobe1986 » Mon Aug 07, 2006 9:24 pm

Ok instructions on how to check:

1. Click Start
2. Click Run
3. Type msinfo32.exe
4. Click OK
5. Wait
6. Wait
7. Check down where it says on the right hand side "Available Physical Memory"

Which makes me ask on my own home computer why out of 512MB i only have 89.25MB free? :?

Atomiku
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:42 am

Post by Atomiku » Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:35 pm

Ahh, well. It is possible that there might have been insufficent physical ram, but I know for SURE that there was plenty of free memory on the virtual ram/page file. That should be okay should it?

And if its not, I guess I'll need some sort of program to reserve enough physical ram for unreal. (Which I guess can be done... I might google it later)

Anyway, I'm still open to suggestions...

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Jobe1986 » Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:49 pm

As far as i am aware Unreal requires physical memory because of the number of reads and writes it does all the time and due to the nature of the data it holds. So your best bet is to sort something out to reserve more physical memory for Unreal.

Spectre
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 12:19 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Post by Spectre » Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:44 am

Just a reply back, I am using unrealircd on windows XP SP2, it is set as a service and only takes up about 6megs of mem. Finding out how much mem is uses , simply right click on the taskbar, Select Taskmanager, click on the processes tab and that will tell you what unrealircd is using for mem.

Click on the performance tab and see what total memory is being used. That should give you and idea.

Hope this helps :lol:

Atomiku
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:42 am

Post by Atomiku » Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:08 pm

Spectre wrote:Just a reply back, I am using unrealircd on windows XP SP2, it is set as a service and only takes up about 6megs of mem. Finding out how much mem is uses , simply right click on the taskbar, Select Taskmanager, click on the processes tab and that will tell you what unrealircd is using for mem.

Click on the performance tab and see what total memory is being used. That should give you and idea.

Hope this helps :lol:
How do I set unrealirc to run as a service? I have a feeling this may solve the problem. Dunno why though. I'd rather have it running as a service anyway.

Spectre
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 12:19 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Post by Spectre » Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:25 pm

When you first install unreal, there is an option there that you check to make it run as a service. Check that.

Post Reply