Linking Problems...

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
sqwaw
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Bellmore, LI, NY, USA
Contact:

Linking Problems...

Post by sqwaw »

Hey, I am tring to link 2 servers together but my hub is not repsonding to the leaf... I belive that I have configured the link blocks correctly...
Here's the error message I receive:

Code: Select all

(14:32:49) -server1.cs-cheats.net- *** Connecting to irc.cs-cheats.net[66.184.171.237].
(14:33:20) -server1.cs-cheats.net- *** Notice -- No response from irc.cs-cheats.net[66.184.171.237], closing link
Thanks in advance.
The_deViL
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:18 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by The_deViL »

Can you ping the servers both ways?
What is your link-block? etc..

Things that would be good to know so other people can help you..
"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most"
sqwaw
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Bellmore, LI, NY, USA
Contact:

Post by sqwaw »

Right, sorry :cry:...
Here's the link AND the me blocks:

irc.cs-cheats.net

Code: Select all

me {
	name "irc.cs-cheats.net";
	info "Cs-Cheats Server";
	numeric 9;
};
---------------------------------
link server1.cs-cheats.net {
	username *;
	hostname 82.136.28.66;
	bind-ip *;
	port 4349;
	hub *;
	password-connect "123"; //password changed for obvious reasons
	password-receive "123"; //password changed for obvious reasons
	class servers;
};
server1.cs-cheats.net

Code: Select all

me {
	name "server1.cs-cheats.net";
	info "Cs-Cheats Server";
	numeric 11;
};
---------------------------------
link irc.cs-cheats.net {
	username *;
	hostname 66.184.171.237;
	bind-ip *;
	port 4349;
	hub *;
	password-connect "123"; //password changed for obvious reasons
	password-receive "123"; //password changed for obvious reasons
	class servers;
};
Also, irc.cs-cheats.net does not respond to ping, I am told told that there is an ICMP block set.
Although, the ping reply from server1.cs-cheats.net is as follows:

Code: Select all

Pinging server1.cs-cheats.net [82.136.28.66] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 82.136.28.66: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=49
Reply from 82.136.28.66: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=49
Reply from 82.136.28.66: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=49
Reply from 82.136.28.66: bytes=32 time=87ms TTL=49

Ping statistics for 82.136.28.66:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 85ms, Maximum = 87ms, Average = 85ms
jewles
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:41 pm
Location: Herndon, VA

Post by jewles »

well first off RTFM. But a suggestion, since you aren't experienced with linking why make it harder. just compile both servers as a hub... cut your problem....
FBSD-DEV Project
http://www.fbsd-dev.org

YatesDev Hosting
http://www.yatesdev.com

The Wrong Way
http://www.thewrongway.net
sqwaw
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Bellmore, LI, NY, USA
Contact:

Post by sqwaw »

It's nice of you to offer me to read the manual :idea:, what an idea. I may not have thought of that *sarcasm implied* :P. But anyway, when compiling 2 servers as hubs, I dont believe you can't link them together, can you...?
w00t
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:31 am
Location: Nowra, Australia

Post by w00t »

By RTFM, it means the answer and/or helpm to your problem is more than likely to be there. By answering in such a smart ass fashion, you make people want to flame you, not help you.

By the looks of that to me, the server "not responding" is either down, or isnt responding on that port. Check you have a listen to open the port.

But, what do we know. We are just a bunch of sarcastic RTFM'ers.

[edit]fixed typos[/edit]
-ChatSpike IRC Network [http://www.chatspike.net]
-Denora Stats [http://denora.nomadirc.net]
-Omerta [http://www.barafranca.com]
jewles
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:41 pm
Location: Herndon, VA

Post by jewles »

I always love reading post here... fun part of my job! :) as for actually providing any relevent information.... Tsk tsk tsk... I don't.... But in your case, I'm willing to make an exception...

1. If you weren't just a smart ass, you'd have down what I said and read the documentation, which clearly explains the answers to your questions about linking. Even goes a tad bit into linking hubs and leaf. Try slowing down, and reading it, absorbing the information.

2. http://forums.unrealircd.com/viewtopic.php?t=329 An additional resource that MIGHT help...
FBSD-DEV Project
http://www.fbsd-dev.org

YatesDev Hosting
http://www.yatesdev.com

The Wrong Way
http://www.thewrongway.net
Ron2K

Post by Ron2K »

Your link blocks seem to be fine, I couldn't notice anything wrong with them.

Given that, let me give you some things to try:
  1. Compiling the servers as hubs, as jewles already mentioned.
  2. Check that the servers are up, as w00t mentioned. (AFAIK, if the server was up but not listening on that port, you'd get a "connection refused" message.)
  3. Try initiating the connection from the other side and see what happens.
  4. Alternatively, it could be routing/firewall problems. In particular, I wonder if that ICMP block has something to do with it? (I'm a Windows user, so I could be horribly wrong.)
jewles
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:41 pm
Location: Herndon, VA

Post by jewles »

To Ron2KL
Alternatively, it could be routing/firewall problems. In particular, I wonder if that ICMP block has something to do with it? (I'm a Windows user, so I could be horribly wrong.)
yeah no, ICMP has very little to do with ircds.

I would also check the listening ports.... Because they are what could cause "connection refused" messages.
FBSD-DEV Project
http://www.fbsd-dev.org

YatesDev Hosting
http://www.yatesdev.com

The Wrong Way
http://www.thewrongway.net
sqwaw
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Bellmore, LI, NY, USA
Contact:

Post by sqwaw »

First of all, I'd like to thank jewles for posting Ron2k's linking tutorial, but Ie read it previously to posting.

Secondly, Ron2k thank you for the suggestion on the listen ports, I had typed 4340 instead of 4349, which was he link port. This solved to problem and we now have 2 servers linked successfully, one from EU and one from the US. Thank you to all who have "flamed" (I use this term loosely) and to those who actually contributed. (Yes, jewles, you did contribute :D)
w00t
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:31 am
Location: Nowra, Australia

Post by w00t »

We would never flame. I thought about your problem, and tried to help but usually someone just goes and tries to do it once, fails and comes saying "it dont work right". I see it here, and elsewhere where I monitor.

It gets irritating.

Apart from that, sorry for the sarcasm, I was feeling a bit off when I wrote that post.
-ChatSpike IRC Network [http://www.chatspike.net]
-Denora Stats [http://denora.nomadirc.net]
-Omerta [http://www.barafranca.com]
Post Reply