Prefixe ! and *

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
X-Trancer
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:24 am

Prefixe ! and *

Post by X-Trancer » Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:58 am

Prefixe *! and & ~ selectablly in one the next version? Or which one must change thereby one * and! has?

penna
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 5:50 am
Location: Germany

Post by penna » Thu Mar 11, 2004 8:07 am


X-Trancer
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:24 am

Post by X-Trancer » Thu Mar 11, 2004 4:15 pm

Iwill change this prefixe to * AND !

codemastr
Former UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by codemastr » Thu Mar 11, 2004 4:17 pm

Then keep in mind you will not receive support from us any longer. We do NOT support people who have modified their Unreal.
-- codemastr

Ron2K

Post by Ron2K » Thu Mar 11, 2004 4:33 pm

The FAQ wrote:It is not possible to use any other symbol than & and ~, if you try it anyway you'll loose support and break other things (for example eggdrop 1.6.* has & and ~ hardcoded).
Good luck bro.

Sjef
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 10:12 am
Location: Mijnstreek Oost
Contact:

Post by Sjef » Fri Mar 12, 2004 12:14 am

X-Trancer wrote:Iwill change this prefixe to * AND !
Just keep in mind that the Unreal coders now what they are doing!

eQuiliBrium
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:42 am
Location: Netherland (Amsterdam)
Contact:

Post by eQuiliBrium » Fri Mar 12, 2004 11:46 am

I am with sjef on this.

The coder's are working a lot with thes kinda code's.
And they have the right not to give any support if you have modified there work.
Let me think about it

_HTH_
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 7:56 pm

Post by _HTH_ » Fri Mar 12, 2004 12:31 pm

i did run unreal ircd with *! as prefixes and believe me it works! I didn´t figure out any errors due to that! I don´t know why the unreal coders say it doesn´t work, but it does...
You should search for PREFIX_AQ in the ircd source there you´ll find how to change it.

I know that there can be problems but i never figured out some. By the way i don´t like prefixes for +aq ... i think op halfop und voice is enough anyways...

Greetz
Christian 'cg' Gayer
RTFM or DIE! :)

Ron2K

Post by Ron2K » Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:04 pm

_HTH_ wrote:i did run unreal ircd with *! as prefixes and believe me it works! I didn´t figure out any errors due to that!
Wonder how hard you've been looking... :P (if the developers said don't do it, there must be a very good reason for it)
_HTH_ wrote:By the way i don´t like prefixes for +aq ... i think op halfop und voice is enough anyways...
Then just compile it without +aq prefixes.

_HTH_
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 7:56 pm

Post by _HTH_ » Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:08 pm

@ Ron2k : i am not a newbie to ircds! I know how to read manuals and how to compile IRCds ... there is no reason to tell me how :)

And yes i know that there can be problems caused by that thing, but if you run it so, it seems to do fine and normal users wouldn´t see the errors (i didn´t see them to, but that´s another point)

Greetz
Christian 'cg' Gayer
RTFM or DIE! :)

eQuiliBrium
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:42 am
Location: Netherland (Amsterdam)
Contact:

Post by eQuiliBrium » Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:13 pm

The only bad thing that i can imagine is if there will be a pach or smth similer.
YOUR ircD will have error's and will not have to work properly like it is doing now.
But like you sad it you are not a newbie, you can fix it.
To me, why sould i try to fix smth that othere ppl have work to make it in the state it is now ?
Ds not make sens to me!
Let me think about it

_HTH_
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 7:56 pm

Post by _HTH_ » Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:22 pm

did i say one word that i still use unreal ircd? I used it some times ago WITH that changes, and yes we didn´t see any errors, but the point is, if somebody WANTS to use it with it, he is on his own doing so! I am a friend of rfc conform ircd´s and i will NEVER use the *! thingie again, but as I said, it seems to work. Everybody who takes a look in the source can change it (by the way, god confusing *.nickname prefix last time i played with unreal 3.1.* *gg*).
And i didn´t say that i would say to somebody that he should change that!

Greetz
Christian 'cg' Gayer
RTFM or DIE! :)

Draegonis
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: Timbucktwo
Contact:

Post by Draegonis » Sat Mar 13, 2004 10:54 pm

Hi,
I'm not interested in changing the prefxes here, but i'd like to know if there is a way to disable the +aq prefixes for the Win32 version (RC2fix)? I'm unfortunatley confined to Windows for the foreseeable future, so would like to get this working.
Thanks.

codemastr
Former UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by codemastr » Sun Mar 14, 2004 12:12 am

You could, but it would require you to recompile your version of Unreal.
-- codemastr

Draegonis
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 10:52 pm
Location: Timbucktwo
Contact:

Post by Draegonis » Sun Mar 14, 2004 10:48 am

Sorry, but i'm not entirley sure what that entails on a Win32 system (would make perfect sense re-compliling on *nix, though).
If you're meaning that it would require me to re-install and do some funny things to it, i'd be quite willing - if you would show me how?
Thanks. :)

Locked