server update to problems

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
Turbo_boy
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

server update to problems

Post by Turbo_boy » Tue May 08, 2007 6:29 pm

Hello there,

I updated 1 of the servers on my network but since then that one
gives many of netsplits on the network.

In the ircd log of the one he is linked to it say's it did SQUIT with
a UNKNOWN ERROR.

But in the one wich netsplit it say's PING TIMEOUT.

Could this has been caused by the update or what?


It's just so weird that it just does the netsplits after I updated.
I never had any netsplits before this.


Can someone help me with this?


Kind regards,
Turbo_boy

SpaceDoG
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:44 am
Contact:

Post by SpaceDoG » Tue May 08, 2007 7:19 pm

Turbo_boy if you're running your net with multiple versions of Unreal it can cause the splits. you need to get all the servers onto the same version.

Turbo_boy
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Turbo_boy » Tue May 08, 2007 7:53 pm

The server where he is linked to has the same version.

My other server has a lower version, but doesn't give any
problems for about 4 months now.

I got 3 servers running:

irc.adomain.nl (version 3.2.5)
'- city.adomain.nl (version 3.2.6) Split from irc.another.nl
'- irc.another.nl (version 3.2.6) Split from city.adomain.nl


So it should not be the version problem at all.

Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat » Wed May 09, 2007 8:48 am

We can't help you before you upgrade all servers to the same version. Please consult the release notes:

Code: Select all

  Please also minimize the time you have multiple versions running, a few days or
  one week is generally not a problem, but having mixed versions on a network for several
  weeks or months is not recommended. 
If you don't make mistakes, you aren't really trying.
- Coleman Hawkins

Turbo_boy
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Turbo_boy » Wed May 09, 2007 8:53 am

Then I should wait untill my server admin replace the server.
Because the ssh deamon has been crashed and couldn't get
up again untill reinstall.

Turbo_boy
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Turbo_boy » Thu May 10, 2007 7:26 pm

He there,

is it possible that the connection be dropped because a litle
mistake into the config file using the hub method for linking
while I compiled it for leaf?

I guess it's a stupid quest but you never know.


Turbo_boy

Jobe
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Jobe » Fri May 11, 2007 11:41 am

Just a practice i've gotten into myself is to compile as hub whether the IRCd will be used as a hub or not, it can still then be used as a leaf only but also gives you the future possibility of using it as a hub too. You can then use hub or leaf in the link blocks to restrict it from being used as a hub without your authorization.

Turbo_boy
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Turbo_boy » Fri May 11, 2007 6:24 pm

Hello there,

I just delinked the older version for half a day right now, but I still
get netsplits from one server.

I thought it was something with the peerings so I setted up a server at my home connection and linked it for a day. But no problems from my side.

I recompiled the server already to hub and changed some things that I
had diffrent.


So what could it be guy's?
The hosting say's there is nothing frong with the connections.


Turbo_boy

Turbo_boy
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Turbo_boy » Tue May 29, 2007 6:50 am

Hi there guy's,

After a long time looking towards hoping it will stop but no.
The older version is offline a couple of weeks.

But now I still have the netsplits comming out the no where.

So can someone give me a answer on this now?

Thanks

Post Reply