+a on Oper Join

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
paradox
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 5:43 pm

+a on Oper Join

Post by paradox » Wed May 28, 2008 5:50 pm

Hello people,

Ive already tryed the FAQ and Search feature to solve my problem, but none of the topics on here will solve what i want. Yesterday ive setted up an Unreal IRCD server and configged it, it works fine etc etc

Now my problem:

Ive created an oper login for myself, i logged into it and joined a chatroom but didnt got op stats, When im in the chatroom with webchat and i make my oper (mIRC) join, It doesnt have Staff stats (a butterfly infront of the name) and its shown as a normal user in the mIRC userlist (no ~ or something), than if i refresh my webchat it shows an butterfly and (Staff) near the name

How can i make the server give an oper mode +a when joining a room ?

Thanks :)

(Sorry for the bad english, im dutch)

** EDIT: Yes, I have Anope :p
iChapter - http://www.ichapter.eu

New chat network
Coming soon, stay up-to-date !

Casper
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:44 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: +a on Oper Join

Post by Casper » Wed May 28, 2008 7:40 pm

You simply can't without a module. Only the first one to join will get +o (and after registrering with your services packages, this person will get +qo). The only other way is oper override which needs to be set in your operblock. After that /mode #chan +a $nick .

Otherwise, go to International forums and explain the issues you're having in Dutch! ;)
Ex Network-Administrator

paradox
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 5:43 pm

Re: +a on Oper Join

Post by paradox » Wed May 28, 2008 7:56 pm

Than, where can i downloade that ''module'' ?

Its very weird if a IRC Operator named (e.g. Sysop_Boston) joins a channel and doesnt even have a butterfly (staff icon) or doesnt get a operator mode,

EDIT ** like i said: When im already in a room and i make my oper join though mIRC, it doesnt show a staff icon infront of the name, than, when i refresh my webchat browser it DOES show a staff icon, in fact thats my biggest problem, so if you could me help solve that i would be greatfull :)

Also, I forgot another question: How can i make ''official'' channels - I know the Official Chans Block, but then when i enter that room it gives me +o

Ty
iChapter - http://www.ichapter.eu

New chat network
Coming soon, stay up-to-date !

BigSmoke
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:36 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: +a on Oper Join

Post by BigSmoke » Thu May 29, 2008 2:00 am

IRC Operators doesn't get mode o on join if they aint the first user which joined that channel. You can give yourself with the can_override (v) flag anymode you like but users find that abusive. About your webclient.. I don't know any butterfly prefix. If you meant &, then I don't know why you see it after a refresh, but thats a client related problem anyway :p

About official channels, you have to register it with services, if you don't run any services.. then I don't know how to prefent users to get +o (you still can run a bot in that channel so noone gets +o).
http://www.fazconi.com
irc://irc.fazconi.com
Email: biggie@fazconi.com

paradox
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 5:43 pm

Re: +a on Oper Join

Post by paradox » Thu May 29, 2008 11:12 am

Thanks for the help, but i dont really think you understand what i mean

Ive made some screenshots:

This is when im already in the room, and i make my oper (mIRC) join
Image

This is when i refresh my webchat after it
Image

This is when i type with my mIRC (oper) after i refreshed
Image

Registring the channel or getting a bot into it, is simply no solution for me
It could be a webchat bug, i dont know (yet), Ive mailed the owners about it but idk when they are going to respond

Hope u ppl now understand what i mean

After i made this topic, i tought myself its a webchat bug, so thats why i mailed the owners
If its not an webchat bug, im for sure you people will know it and tell me about it :)

Thanks, once again.

** Edit:

Ive tought of an solution myself, as the following:

- I can edit the icons for modes in a adminitration site, like 'Butterfly for +q', 'Gold hammer for +a' etc, So i could make Mode +q for Operators, mode +a for Owners, mode +o for Hosts, mode +h for Half Hosts (The reason i want +q for opers is because +q gets & and is on top in IRC chat clients like mIRC)

So, i have to know the following:

- Am i able to give people with Admin/Sysop/Guide in their name mode +q though OperServ/ChanServ ?
- Am i able to make sure NOBODY can remove mode q from ANYONE ?
- Am i able to 'edit' ChanServ so it will give mode +ao when someone joins a chan as the first person in case of +qo ?
iChapter - http://www.ichapter.eu

New chat network
Coming soon, stay up-to-date !

paradox
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 5:43 pm

Re: +a on Oper Join

Post by paradox » Fri May 30, 2008 2:11 pm

No more support needed, thanks!

Casper helped me out :)
iChapter - http://www.ichapter.eu

New chat network
Coming soon, stay up-to-date !

Post Reply