That command doesn't work on this protocol

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
elmonty
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:22 pm

That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by elmonty » Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:27 pm

I am trying to make myself the channel op, but I am unable to do so. I have tried the /op command, the /oper command, the mode command, but nothing is working. I believe I have the oper block set up correctly.

If I use the /op command, it says "You're not channel operator."

If I use /oper, it says "That command doesn't work on this protocol."

If I use /mode me +o, I get no response.

I've searched the FAQ, but am still stuck.

Casper
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:44 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by Casper » Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:48 pm

Try

Code: Select all

/mode #chan +o yournick
...
Ex Network-Administrator

elmonty
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:22 pm

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by elmonty » Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:08 pm

"You're not channel operator"

Casper
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:44 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by Casper » Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:09 pm

Can you explain to me what you are on the channel? (Are you oper, normal user, owner (services?))
Ex Network-Administrator

elmonty
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:22 pm

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by elmonty » Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:19 pm

oper meXXX {

class clients;

from
{
userhost (meXXX@*);
};

password "XXXXXX";

flags
{
netadmin;
can_restart;
can_rehash;
can_override;
};
};

Casper
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:44 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by Casper » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:00 pm

What client are you using?
Ex Network-Administrator

elmonty
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:22 pm

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by elmonty » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:40 pm

Pidgin 2.5.1

Casper
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 7:44 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by Casper » Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:20 am

I think this has to do with this client that you're using and isn't a fault on Unreal's side. Please try it again with xChat (Linux) or with mIRC (windows). I'm quite confident it will work with one of those.
Ex Network-Administrator

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by Jobe1986 » Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:41 am

elmonty wrote:If I use /oper, it says "That command doesn't work on this protocol."
This is nothing to do with UnrealIRCd as it is NOT even an UnrealIRCd sent response.

If you want proof of that, try looking for the message in UnrealIRCd's source. I garuntee you will NOT find it. :P
Your IP: Image
Your Country: Image

Mousetail
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:36 am

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by Mousetail » Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:49 am

That just means that Pidgin doesn't understand that command. Do: /raw oper <username> <password>.

LEthaLity
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 4:41 pm

Re: That command doesn't work on this protocol

Post by LEthaLity » Sat Oct 25, 2008 9:29 pm

I find that /quote oper etc usually works on vcarious clients, i've been able to oper, connect to bnc etc using that from my phones mirggi irc client

Post Reply