error downloading...... Could not resolve host: ....

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
DeMiNe0
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 4:11 am

error downloading...... Could not resolve host: ....

Post by DeMiNe0 » Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:57 am

Hello,

I'm attempting to set up remote includes using curl on unrealircd3.2.8.

When i start unreal i get the following error:

[error] unrealircd.conf:76: include: error downloading 'http://******:*****@xtirc.scs.*********.com/remoteconfigs/_global/glob_help.conf': Could not resolve host: xtirc.scs.*******.com (Successful completion)


I can't figure out why. I've ran an IRCd successfully not to long ago (although on 3.2.7) and curl includes worked perfectly.


I am able to execute "curl my.url.here" successfully, and i'm also able to resolve the host via nslookup.

I found someone having the same issue here as well:
http://bugs.unrealircd.org/bug_view_adv ... ug_id=1827

I also noticed that the remote includes DO work if I use an ip address instead of a domain.

Any help on this?

DeMiNe0
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 4:11 am

Re: error downloading...... Could not resolve host: ....

Post by DeMiNe0 » Fri Mar 06, 2009 2:16 am

I rolled back to 3.2.7 and everything works perfectly. This is a bug in 3.2.8.

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: error downloading...... Could not resolve host: ....

Post by Jobe1986 » Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:53 am

DeMiNe0 wrote:I rolled back to 3.2.7 and everything works perfectly. This is a bug in 3.2.8.
Or your DNS settings in unrealircd.conf are wrong.
Your IP: Image
Your Country: Image

DeMiNe0
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 4:11 am

Re: error downloading...... Could not resolve host: ....

Post by DeMiNe0 » Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:57 am

I was using the same config for both versions of UnrealIRCD

zEkE
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 9:30 am
Location: Harrisonburg, VA
Contact:

Re: error downloading...... Could not resolve host: ....

Post by zEkE » Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:55 pm

I upgraded a hub and a non-user server on my network to 3.2.8 as a trial before rolling out to the rest of the servers and the remote include system works fine, although it uses a different authentication system (non-http-auth). If there is a bug, it's either a curl-version or system-specific problem, or it's the difference between using http auth and not.

For reference, both servers on 3.2.8 are Debian, Unreal3.2.8, and libcurl 7.18.2.
NetAdmin - irc.unitedchristianchat.net
http://www2.i-al.net/ircbots/

ohnobinki
UnrealIRCd coder
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:54 am
Location: Middle Earth
Contact:

Re: error downloading...... Could not resolve host: ....

Post by ohnobinki » Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:17 pm

DeMiNe0 wrote:I rolled back to 3.2.7 and everything works perfectly. This is a bug in 3.2.8.
In my understanding, this sounds like bug http://bugs.unrealircd.org/view.php?id=3847 . Why? Because UnrealIRCd-3.2.7 bundles, uses, and exports symbols from c-ares-1.4.0. UnrealIRCd-3.2.8{,.1} bundles, uses, and exports symbols from c-ares-1.6.0. c-ares's DNS resolving API ( & thus ABI ) changed between c-ares-1.4.0 and c-ares-1.5.*. You are asking a cURL that was designed and compiled against c-ares-1.4.0 with unrealircd's bundled c-ares-1.6.0.

The solution is to upgrade your OS's cURL installation to something compatible with c-ares-1.6.0. But, better yet, to have unrealircd use the same c-ares that libcURL is using. With unrealircd-3.2.9, you may specify this by passing --with-system-cares to ./configure (./Config will ask you for extra parameters). Now, if unrealircd-3.2.8 tried to compile against the system-installed c-ares and the system had c-ares-1.4.0, you'd be stopped at ./configure time because unrealircd asks for c-ares-1.6.0 (because of API changes). Then you'd ask your OS's package manager to upgrade your system overall and end up with compatible, system-installed versions of c-ares and libcurl. Then remote includes would work and not give strange undecipherable errors _and_ your OS would be kept more up-to-date :-).

Post Reply