[Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
dea
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:08 pm

[Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by dea » Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:21 pm

Hi ,

I've a big problem , my os is seven and i've a problem with my server irc

I use a No-ip dns because i've a dynamic ip and i use my computer for my server.

My config is :

Code: Select all

MS Shell Dlg 2;loadmodule "modules/commands.dll";
loadmodule "modules/cloak.dll";

include "help.conf";
include "badwords.channel.conf";
include "badwords.message.conf";
include "badwords.quit.conf";
include "spamfilter.conf";

me
{
    name "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
    info "[CENSORED]";
    numeric 1;
};

admin {
    "[CENSORED]";
    "[CENSORED]";
    "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
};

class     clients
{
    pingfreq 90;
    maxclients 500;
    sendq 100;
    recvq 8000;
};

allow {
    ip     *@*;
    hostname  *@*;
    class     clients;
    maxperip 5;
};

oper [CENSORED] {
    class     clients;
    password "[CENSORED]";
    from {
        userhost *@*;
    };
    flags
    {
        netadmin;
        can_zline;
        can_gzline;
        can_gkline;
        global;
    };
};

listen  *:6667;

drpass {
    restart "I-love-to-restart";
    die "die-you-stupid";
};

set {
    network-name         "My Irc";
    default-server         "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
    services-server     "services.[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
    stats-server         "stats.[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
    help-channel         "#pickachannelanychannel";
    hiddenhost-prefix    "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
    cloak-keys {
        "aB1chhiGIg79g9fIgigioGIGh8989gg9D2eF3gH4";
        "iJ5khgzgz677VOIOug89gGg9FGzfZGHh89hL6mN7oP8";
        "qR9sTggGhoGuiog79679hh809hHH809zhH99hHHo0uV1wX2";
    };
    hosts {
        local        "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
        global        "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
        coadmin        "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
        admin        "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
        servicesadmin     "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
        netadmin     "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
        host-on-oper-up "[CENSORED].no-ip.org";
    };
};

set {
    kline-address "[CENSORED]@gmail.com";
    modes-on-connect "+ixw";
    modes-on-oper     "+xwgs";
    oper-auto-join "#PICKACHANNELANYCHANNEL";
    options {
        hide-ulines;
        show-connect-info;
    };

    maxchannelsperuser 50000;
    anti-spam-quit-message-time 10s;
    oper-only-stats "okfGsMRUEelLCXzdD";
    throttle {
        connections 3;
        period 60s;
    };

    anti-flood {
        nick-flood 3:60;    
    };

    spamfilter {
        ban-time 3604d; 
        ban-reason "Spam/Advertising"; 
        virus-help-channel "#PICKACHANNELANYCHANNEL"; 
    };
}; 
The config is great but i run wircd.exe , i see global statistics servers:1 and Max clients : 1 .



After that I run Mirc , i type in the command line box of mIRC : /s 127.0.0.1 and after that /s [CENSORED].no-ip.org


And my Mirc error is :

Code: Select all

* Connecting to 127.0.0.1 (6667)
-
-[CENSORED].no-ip.org- *** Looking up your hostname...
-
-[CENSORED].no-ip.org- *** Found your hostname
-
* Disconnected
-
* Connecting to [CENSORED].no-ip.org (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)

===> My Unrealircd server have a problem because my port 6667 is open and my no-ip too .

Help Me PLEASE

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by Jobe1986 » Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:53 am

Firstly in the config you pasted includes data that shouldnt be there at all (on the first line):

Code: Select all

MS Shell Dlg 2;
Secondly, we cannot try and connect ourselves to see if the issue you're have is down to your own computer, your client or your ISP because you censored the host name.
Your IP: Image
Your Country: Image

dea
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by dea » Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:03 am

Jobe1986 wrote:Firstly in the config you pasted includes data that shouldnt be there at all (on the first line):

Code: Select all

MS Shell Dlg 2;
Secondly, we cannot try and connect ourselves to see if the issue you're have is down to your own computer, your client or your ISP because you censored the host name.

Code: Select all

MS Shell Dlg 2;loadmodule "modules/commands.dll";
loadmodule "modules/cloak.dll";

include "help.conf";
include "badwords.channel.conf";
include "badwords.message.conf";
include "badwords.quit.conf";
include "spamfilter.conf";

me
{
    name "solister.no-ip.org";
    info "dea";
    numeric 1;
};

admin {
    "dea";
    "dea";
    "solister.no-ip.org";
};

class     clients
{
    pingfreq 90;
    maxclients 500;
    sendq 100;
    recvq 8000;
};

allow {
    ip     *@*;
    hostname  *@*;
    class     clients;
    maxperip 5;
};

oper dea {
    class     clients;
    password "loukie";
    from {
        userhost *@*;
    };
    flags
    {
        netadmin;
        can_zline;
        can_gzline;
        can_gkline;
        global;
    };
};

listen  *:6667;

drpass {
    restart "I-love-to-restart";
    die "die-you-stupid";
};

set {
    network-name         "Test";
    default-server         "solister.no-ip.org";
    services-server     "services.solister.no-ip.org";
    stats-server         "stats.solister.no-ip.org";
    help-channel         "#pickachannelanychannel";
    hiddenhost-prefix    "solister.no-ip.org";
    cloak-keys {
        "aB1chhiGIg79g9fIgigioGIGh8989gg9D2eF3gH4";
        "iJ5khgzgz677VOIOug89gGg9FGzfZGHh89hL6mN7oP8";
        "qR9sTggGhoGuiog79679hh809hHH809zhH99hHHo0uV1wX2";
    };
    hosts {
        local        "solister.no-ip.org";
        global        "solister.no-ip.org";
        coadmin        "solister.no-ip.org";
        admin        "solister.no-ip.org";
        servicesadmin     "solister.no-ip.org";
        netadmin     "solister.no-ip.org";
        host-on-oper-up "solister.no-ip.org";
    };
};

set {
    kline-address "service.okamas@gmail.com";
    modes-on-connect "+ixw";
    modes-on-oper     "+xwgs";
    oper-auto-join "#PICKACHANNELANYCHANNEL";
    options {
        hide-ulines;
        show-connect-info;
    };

    maxchannelsperuser 50000;
    anti-spam-quit-message-time 10s;
    oper-only-stats "okfGsMRUEelLCXzdD";
    throttle {
        connections 3;
        period 60s;
    };

    anti-flood {
        nick-flood 3:60;    
    };

    spamfilter {
        ban-time 3604d; 
        ban-reason "Spam/Advertising"; 
        virus-help-channel "#PICKACHANNELANYCHANNEL"; 
    };
}; 
Sorry , it's the config uncensored . and i can Teamviewer if you want

dea
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by dea » Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:39 am

And the screen :

Image

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by Jobe1986 » Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:51 am

OK, for a start, you will only be able to connec using solister.no-ip.org from LAN's other than the one the server is on. The other issue as I can see it is you have not forwarded the ports on your router to your IRCd, that or you have a firewall in place preventing outside access to your IP or ports.
Your IP: Image
Your Country: Image

dea
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by dea » Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:21 pm

Thanks for you're help ,

My port 6667 is open , my firewall ( windows and zonealarm ) is disable , and i test the connection to my ip . it's not a problem with no-ip because Mirc found my hostname solister.no-ip.org :cry:

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by Stealth » Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:30 pm

I have only seen Unreal do this in one situation, and that is because something was causing it to crash when you tried connecting. Check your Unreal folder for any crash reports (*core* files). Also try restarting Unreal without modules (except cloak and commands). If you have modified your Unreal, well, that's your problem.

dea
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by dea » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:58 am

Stealth wrote:I have only seen Unreal do this in one situation, and that is because something was causing it to crash when you tried connecting. Check your Unreal folder for any crash reports (*core* files). Also try restarting Unreal without modules (except cloak and commands). If you have modified your Unreal, well, that's your problem.
In my Unreal3.2 folder i've 0 file *core* , my unreal is not modified and my log.txt is

Code: Select all

[Mon Aug 08 19:05:07 2011] - UnrealIRCd started.
[Mon Aug 08 19:05:07 2011] - TIME SYNCH: IRCd clock succesfully synchronized to known good time source [offset: -33, was: -32].
[Mon Aug 08 19:17:09 2011] - UnrealIRCd started.
[Mon Aug 08 19:17:09 2011] - TIME SYNCH: IRCd clock succesfully synchronized to known good time source [offset: -33, was: -33].
[Tue Aug 09 11:23:29 2011] - UnrealIRCd started.
[Tue Aug 09 11:23:29 2011] - TIME SYNCH: IRCd clock succesfully synchronized to known good time source [offset: -32, was: -33].
[Tue Aug 09 11:31:16 2011] - UnrealIRCd started.
[Tue Aug 09 11:31:16 2011] - TIME SYNCH: IRCd clock succesfully synchronized to known good time source [offset: -32, was: -33].
[Wed Aug 10 14:13:28 2011] - UnrealIRCd started.
[Wed Aug 10 14:13:28 2011] - TIME SYNCH: IRCd clock succesfully synchronized to known good time source [offset: -32, was: -32].
Thanks for you're help .

If you need see i can teamviewer

katsklaw
Official supporter
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by katsklaw » Thu Aug 11, 2011 3:45 pm

From IRC:

Code: Select all

.:10:32:. * Connecting to solister.no-ip.org (6667)
.:10:32:. * Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)

.:10:34:. * Dns resolving solister.no-ip.org
.:10:34:. Resolved solister.no-ip.org to 93.13.108.145
Test an unlikely port:

Code: Select all

.:10:39:. * Connecting to solister.no-ip.org (1234)
.:10:39:. * Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)
Since it did not return Connection refused, but timed out, that means the connection request isn't making it to your PC, something from no-ip to your PC is blocking/ignoring the connection request.

An actively refused connection, for example connecting to an IP on a port that is not being listened to will return "connection refused".

From my laptop:

Code: Select all

C:\>ping 93.13.108.145

Pinging 93.13.108.145 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 93.13.108.145: bytes=32 time=1319ms TTL=52
Reply from 93.13.108.145: bytes=32 time=243ms TTL=52
Reply from 93.13.108.145: bytes=32 time=244ms TTL=52
Reply from 93.13.108.145: bytes=32 time=233ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 93.13.108.145:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 233ms, Maximum = 1319ms, Average = 509ms
From Dallas, TX:

Code: Select all

katsklaw@ircd1:~$ ping  93.13.108.145
PING 93.13.108.145 (93.13.108.145) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 93.13.108.145: icmp_req=1 ttl=53 time=169 ms
64 bytes from 93.13.108.145: icmp_req=2 ttl=53 time=169 ms
64 bytes from 93.13.108.145: icmp_req=3 ttl=53 time=168 ms
64 bytes from 93.13.108.145: icmp_req=4 ttl=53 time=169 ms
64 bytes from 93.13.108.145: icmp_req=5 ttl=53 time=169 ms
^C
--- 93.13.108.145 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 4005ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 168.814/169.095/169.282/0.483 ms

It's not your unrealircd setup.

Good Luck.

@Jobe, unless no-ip actively denies it, you can certainly connect to your external IP form inside your LAN, I've been doing it for years. As long as you have a valid route, you can connect to any IP.

Code: Select all

.:11:04:. * Connecting to 72.101.108.355 (6667)
-
.:11:04:. [Misc] *** Looking up your hostname...
.:11:04:. [Misc] *** Found your hostname

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by Jobe1986 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:57 am

katsklaw wrote:@Jobe, unless no-ip actively denies it, you can certainly connect to your external IP form inside your LAN, I've been doing it for years. As long as you have a valid route, you can connect to any IP.

Code: Select all

.:11:04:. * Connecting to 72.101.108.355 (6667)
-
.:11:04:. [Misc] *** Looking up your hostname...
.:11:04:. [Misc] *** Found your hostname
No-IP is a dynamic DNS host name, it has no control over traffic to your IP what so ever, that is except to block DNS lookups for the host name. Traffic between an IRC client and the IRC server pointed to by a no-ip host name doesn't pass through any equipment belonging to no-ip at all. What controls whether or not you can access your external IP from your internal LAN is your router/firewall. Most routers/firewalls I've encountered don't allow access to forwarded ports on the external IP from anywhere internally. That's not to say all do but the majority of routers I've encountered don't (with Netgear they only just recently introduced the feature, so in most Netgear cases a firmware upgrade is required)
Your IP: Image
Your Country: Image

katsklaw
Official supporter
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by katsklaw » Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:47 pm

@Jobe: That is very interesting to say the least since I've nearly exclusively used netgear in the past and haven't seen this issue. Few years ago though and definitely off topic. :)

@dea: Try this and see if it helps.

Symptom
:
- Cannot access the web server from the LAN side using a host/domain name.
- Access to the web server from the local network is only possible when using local IP address.

Cause:
Routers without NAT loopback feature require that you use the local IP address to access the local web server instead of the host name.

Resolution/Work-around:
You can type the IP address of your host server on your browser or you can follow the steps below to edit the Host file.
1. Go to C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc
2. Open Host file with WordPad
3. Edit by adding Local IP address and your host name
4. Save and try accessing web server via host name
5. A reboot may be needed

Note: You have to do steps 1 to 5 on local PC(s) were you want to access web server via host name.

I know this talks about a web server, but in this scenario it's safe to assume web server and ircd are synonymous. I just tried this trick and it works as far as to allow you to connect to the same name as your users would, but it doesn't fix the fact that your users may not be able to connect to your server. I tried again a few minutes ago and can't connect to your server.

Hope that helps.

dea
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by dea » Fri Aug 12, 2011 8:34 pm

I have edit my host file with the line :

Code: Select all

#   192.168.1.28    solister.no-ip.org/code]  

( 192.168.1.28 is my local ip )

and i've a new problem with mirc it's :
[code]* Connecting to solister.no-ip.org (6667)
-
-solister.no-ip.org- *** Looking up your hostname...
-
-solister.no-ip.org- *** Couldn't resolve your hostname; using your IP address instead
-
* Disconnected

Best Regard ,

Dea

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by Stealth » Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:53 pm

I don't believe it is the physical router or firewall, but either UnrealIRCd or a firewall/AV/whatever running on the host system.

The thing everyone seems to be overlooking is this is working the first time. The process appears to be: Connection -> Some data received -> connection being interrupted -> cannot reconnect.

What are you doing to get Unreal to give you that problem? Are you restarting Unreal? Do you need to start your server all over again? (like Unreal wasn't running)


I would also like to point out that you have spamfilters loaded. Is your nick/ident/client version possibly triggering a filter?

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by Stealth » Fri Aug 12, 2011 10:56 pm

You also appear to be lacking a log block, which could be why there's no useful information in your log. Add a log block with all the options

xposionn
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:06 am

Re: [Error] Unrealircd up but timedout in Mirc

Post by xposionn » Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:30 am

I got the same problam:

Code: Select all

(13:27:13) * Connecting to timormirc.no-ip.org (6667)
-
(13:27:13) • • (Snotice) Looking up your hostname...
(13:27:13) • • (Snotice) Couldn't resolve your hostname; using your IP address instead
-
(13:27:14) * Disconnected
the wircd.exe running well...
but i cant connect to my server from my own computer and from anyother one...
you can try to connect
timorirc.no-ip.org 6667

the server is on the air

Locked