Adding Oper blocks

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
danman
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:11 pm

Adding Oper blocks

Post by danman »

Hi,

I was reading the documentation here

However when log-ing in, using the command "oper dan mypassword", i would get: 491: No O-lines for your host
so I went back and tried changing some values and eventually gave up and just tried to copy and paste the example given. so, i put this into my conf file:

Code: Select all

oper bobsmith {
	class clients;
	from {
		userhost [email protected];
	};
	password "f00";
	flags {
		netadmin;
		can_gkline;
		can_gzline;
		can_zline;
		can_restart;
		can_die;
		global;
	};
	swhois "Example of a whois mask";
	snomask frebWqFv;
};
first off, i apologize for my lack of knowledge in this particular area.
Must I change the user host area to whatever i get when doing /whois on myself? Ive tried to read up on this, but am still left puzzled.
Second, when i try /operbobsmith f00, i will get the error i mentioned at the top of my post.
Is there something I am missing?
(i will change the pass/username when done)
Jobe
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Adding Oper blocks

Post by Jobe »

The error you get is because your real ident@host, or the user name you use for /oper is incorrect.

Note the oper::from::userhost masks must match your REAL rDNS host name or ip and the ident shown in /whois, also note user names for /oper are case sensitive.
Your IP: Image
Your Country: Image
danman
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:11 pm

Re: Adding Oper blocks

Post by danman »

Ok.

i verified the username, its indeed "bobsmith"

i did a whois lookup on myself.

Code: Select all

whois Zoomber
311: zoomber ~zoomber adsl-255-255-255-255.dsl.irvnca.pacbell.net * zoomber
319: zoomber @#zoomber
312: zoomber irc.****.com Irc Server
317: zoomber 36 1320284558 seconds idle, signon time
318: Zoomber End of /WHOIS list.
255.255.255.255 replaced by my real ip

when i do a whois on the irc server, i do get a disguise on the ip:

Code: Select all

311: zoomber ~zoomber rox-C45374EA.dsl.irvnca.pacbell.net * zoomber
so am I assuming my user-host must be "[email protected]"
I still receive no O-line for it, im not sure what I am doing wrong. I tried entering it in a few ways too, to no avail. My host is dynamic too, will this be a problem, and one able to get around?
cheiron
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 6:17 pm

Re: Adding Oper blocks

Post by cheiron »

if your host is very dynamic ... there is one easy option but please bear in mind one important fact'

It is NOT secure..
from {
userhost *@*;
};
that will allow ANY ip to oper up.. provided they have the oper name and the oper password. It's not ideal but that is one way you could do it....
danman
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:11 pm

Re: Adding Oper blocks

Post by danman »

thanks!
Post Reply