Adding operators

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

I added the oper block in the config.
When I do /oper name pass.
Says: No O-lines for your host

Here is my oper block:

Code: Select all

 oper JR10 {
	class clients;
	from {
		userhost *@*;
	};
	password "password";
	flags {
		netadmin;
		can_gkline;
		can_gzline;
		can_zline;
		can_restart;
		can_die;
		global;
	};
};
Bunkerwaiss
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:48 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by Bunkerwaiss »

Hi JR10,
lets clear some bushes..

First: rehash your server's config file.
Then: disconnect/reconnect to your server
Last: /oper name pass

On Windows, to rehash:
Start -> Run -> type: %windir%\system32\services.msc
find the service named: Unrealircd
click on it and Restart

*Nix:
cd into Unreal32 folder
type: ./unreal rehash
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

I can't find Unrealircd.
Bunkerwaiss
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:48 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by Bunkerwaiss »

The thing is that when you change something in your unreal config file, you must then refresh (rehash) the new configuration.
Are you on a Windows system? or a linux shell?
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

Windows, I stopped the IRC server, changed the config file and opened it again.
And still it doesn't work.
Bunkerwaiss
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:48 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by Bunkerwaiss »

Maybe you wanna check your ircd.log for possible errors..
C:\Program Files\Unreal3.2\ircd.log (by default location)
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

Code: Select all

[Thu Dec 22 18:46:52 2011] - OPER NOHOSTMATCH (JR10) by (JR10!JR10@IP)
Perhaps that's the line?
As I posted in the first post I specified the host as "*@*".
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

I got it working now.
It says

Code: Select all

You are now an IRC Operator
.
But I joined a channel, and I'm not an operator.
Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Re: Adding operators

Post by Stealth »

But I joined a channel, and I'm not an operator.
That's how it works. Being an oper does not automatically give you access to every channel, and UnrealIRCd does not provide a way for you to be.
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

So there is no way to make myself operator on a channel?
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding operators

Post by katsklaw »

JR10 wrote:So there is no way to make myself operator on a channel?
Be the first to join it or if its registered, ask the channel founder for ops. IRCop status it to be used to maintain the server, not allow you to play God. You should Google "ircop myths".
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

Okay, but if I used NickServ to register and identify, it will save my op right?
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

I managed to get services for my irc network.
But I still don't get it, how can I be an operator on my channel, when I identify.
Do I need something like a bot?
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding operators

Post by katsklaw »

JR10 wrote:I managed to get services for my irc network.
But I still don't get it, how can I be an operator on my channel, when I identify.
Do I need something like a bot?
I highly suggest you read all the documentation that comes with your services package.
JR10
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:31 am

Re: Adding operators

Post by JR10 »

Ok.
I got everything fine now.
But there is one thing left.
I don't want people registering channels without my approval.
Is there a way to make that only few people can register channels?
Or they need my approval to make the channel.
I know set::level-on-join, but then no one can register any channels.
Post Reply