Module to add chan mode +B

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
tom7141
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:22 pm

Module to add chan mode +B

Post by tom7141 » Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:38 pm

Hi

I'm codeing a new services bot for my network called SuperBot and i would like to ask if some one could make me a module for Unreal nix and win32 servers(3.2.3) that lets a room op's set mode +B in the chan?

i have tryed to make this my slef but sadly i'm not that good at C++ but we all have to start some where :)

any thing that any one thinks will help me with this would be much welcomed.

Thanks
Tom

aquanight
Official supporter
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: Boise, ID

Post by aquanight » Wed Jun 08, 2005 2:41 am

...There is no channel mode +B...

tom7141
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:22 pm

Post by tom7141 » Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:51 pm

aquanight wrote:...There is no channel mode +B...
er i know that Thus why i'm asking for a module to enable the mode.......... :shock:

Matridom
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:28 am

Post by Matridom » Wed Jun 08, 2005 7:13 pm

tom7141 wrote:
aquanight wrote:...There is no channel mode +B...
er i know that Thus why i'm asking for a module to enable the mode.......... :shock:
and what is this mode supposed to do?
Never argue with an idiot. They will bring you down to their level, then beat you with experience.

tom7141
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:22 pm

Post by tom7141 » Wed Jun 08, 2005 7:15 pm

Matridom wrote:and what is this mode supposed to do?
it doesnt need to do any thing i just need it setable its for the services. 8)

RandomNumber
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:10 pm

Post by RandomNumber » Sun Jun 12, 2005 9:56 am

tom7141 wrote:
Matridom wrote:and what is this mode supposed to do?
it doesnt need to do any thing i just need it setable its for the services. 8)
What is the point of a channel mode if it does nothing? And if its a thing for services theres still no point since it has no point in the ircd

w00t
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:31 am
Location: Nowra, Australia

Post by w00t » Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:02 am

Well, I kinda-sorta debate that. Like usermode +B. All it does is add a numeric to whois *shrug*. And don't even get people started on +W ;)
-ChatSpike IRC Network [http://www.chatspike.net]
-Denora Stats [http://denora.nomadirc.net]
-Omerta [http://www.barafranca.com]

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth » Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:59 pm

w00t wrote:Well, I kinda-sorta debate that. Like usermode +B. All it does is add a numeric to whois *shrug*. And don't even get people started on +W ;)
Usemodes +B and +W do have a purpose. With usermode B, an admin can encourage people with bots to set their bot +B so they know who to contact if there are any problems. Usermode +W is there for nosy opers who wish to know when someone whoises them.

I think he wants to have channelmode +B for marking channels in some way.

aquanight
Official supporter
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: Boise, ID

Post by aquanight » Sun Jun 12, 2005 6:37 pm

Is +r not enough or something?

Jason
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Jason » Mon Jun 13, 2005 1:15 am

He wants a user settable mode +B to summon a bot into the channel. (The bot will check /list every so often)
Why the hell can't my signature be empty?
"Your message contains too few characters."

w00t
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:31 am
Location: Nowra, Australia

Post by w00t » Mon Jun 13, 2005 2:06 pm

!&%*^$#$!.

Very inefficient way of doing things.
If I may suggest you simply create something like /msg chanserv request #bleh or something similar.
-ChatSpike IRC Network [http://www.chatspike.net]
-Denora Stats [http://denora.nomadirc.net]
-Omerta [http://www.barafranca.com]

tom7141
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:22 pm

Post by tom7141 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 5:33 pm

w00t wrote:!&%*^$#$!.

Very inefficient way of doing things.
it isnt ineffcient coz SuperBot is connected to the server via a link(just like you would do with your services) thus it knows if a mode is changed on a chan


Tom

nforbes
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 4:41 pm
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Contact:

Post by nforbes » Mon Jun 13, 2005 5:35 pm

I know for a fact that Anope has a BotServ available. Maybe that's what you're looking for? It's pretty much like having ChanServ in your channel (all commands sent to ChanServ for a channel are relayed through it). You can customise its hostname, username, realname, etc.
- Noel

tom7141
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:22 pm

Post by tom7141 » Mon Jun 13, 2005 6:14 pm

nforbes wrote:I know for a fact that Anope has a BotServ available. Maybe that's what you're looking for? It's pretty much like having ChanServ in your channel (all commands sent to ChanServ for a channel are relayed through it). You can customise its hostname, username, realname, etc.
yes we do have it but it doesnt do every thing we need it to :|

Jason
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Jason » Mon Jun 13, 2005 7:29 pm

Hes making his own very featured bot.

Just have your bot accept a /msg BotHere JOIN #Chan from any @ on the channel, and accept a /msg BotHere PART #Chan from anyone of equal or greater access than the person who did the JOIN.
Why the hell can't my signature be empty?
"Your message contains too few characters."

Locked