authentication based on user@

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
dvzion

authentication based on user@

Post by dvzion »

Hi.

We are setting up an irc network for a non-profit student organization and because we are going to deal with a lot of users from inside and outside we need to differentiate them somehow.

I am an irc newbie so please bear with me.

The userauth mod by AngryWolf is almost perfect but not quite. Every user can connect to the server but if the user information is found in a local authentication file then you need to give a password.

For example, if person A with person.a@host-whatever connects and in users.data (for example) we have an entry like

person.a : pass

then the user cannot login without the right password. If the user information would be person.b then everything would be okay.

The point is to have every person authenticated registered(similar to nick) and the ones that didn't login with password as simple guests.

This policy would come in handy not only when nicks are involved but also when joining a channel.

Supposing that there are 50 channels, the registered users can enter all of them while the unregistered ones can join just 2 or 3 (specified by mode or in the configuration file).

The whole point is to make sure the users are who they pretend to be (john.doe@*) while being free to take whatever nick they like. Outside users are welcomed can log in also but they have a big GUEST along the nickname and are restricted to a limited, specific number of channels.

As I said the userauth from AngryWolf was really on the topic but the main problem was not solved : the user@ from user info is relevant/mandatory and not user:pass.

I would be nice (if possible) to give a regexp to the nicks that the unregistered user can have - for example if the prefered nick from the user is bla, it would be automatically changed into GUEST-bla.