Opinions about best flavor of *nix

Talk about pretty much anything here, but DO NOT USE FOR SUPPORT.

Moderator: Supporters

MrBugSir

Opinions about best flavor of *nix

Post by MrBugSir »

Greetings ---

I have set-up my UnRealIRCd on Windows, with Anope services, and SolarStats, and attempted to install AW Stats as well for my web server, and MySQL. Many of these tool compiled for Win32 doesn't included support for MySql, which seriously sucks. Also, I cannot tell you how many times these programs have &$*@#!! each other up.

It's a Windows thing.

So I'm going to bite the bullet and learn *nix seriously now. I would like any opinions on what would be the best flavor of *nix for a newbie. But also please note that I'm not a total lamer, I have worked in IT for 10 years. I have limited Unix experience (Digital/Compaq/HP Tru64 UNIX), and have taken numerous courses in C/C++ programming, although that was years ago. A dumbed down flavor of *nix is unneccesary. I am looking for the best.

I was thinking about Solaris. Any opinions?!!
Number

Post by Number »

Mandrake (Mdk 10.1 ...)
It's easy, and the install is like windows (GUI) ..

It's free on 3 cd ..
And whit mandrake you have (apache,mysql,postgres,php,postix,proftpd..)

After you only need to install unrealircd, et anope .. if you want ..
And i'ts easy...
Syzop
UnrealIRCd head coder

Post by Syzop »

I like to have 2 (or more) boxes.. windows for my desktop, *NIX for all my coding, server stuff, etc etc.

Personally I use Linux: Debian, but I'm quite positive on Fedora Core (3) as well, even though I used to find redhat 'lame' etc :P.