@Codemastr and or @Syzop - A hostname may contain ....

Talk about pretty much anything here, but DO NOT USE FOR SUPPORT.

Moderator: Supporters

Post Reply
Stoebi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 5:43 pm

@Codemastr and or @Syzop - A hostname may contain ....

Post by Stoebi » Mon Mar 08, 2004 4:45 am

Hi,

my english is to bad. Can you follow this link please?

http://unrealircd.proboards24.com/index ... 1078224255

What do you think about this?


Regards, Stoebi

codemastr
Former UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by codemastr » Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:41 pm

Ok, first off, you can't truly register such domains. It uses the IDN/ACE encoding scheme. Basically it uses a system to translate regular English letters into those chracters. That means Unreal has nothing special to add to support this. It is up to the clients to add this support.
-- codemastr

SoulForge

Post by SoulForge » Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:13 pm

What would truly be the point in that? Looks stupid to me.

AngryWolf
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 10:53 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Post by AngryWolf » Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:27 pm

To codemastr: Thanks for the information, now I know how they work. :D
To Soulforge: To you it might be stupid, but imagine how many people from all over the world want something like such domains. :-)

Stoebi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 5:43 pm

Post by Stoebi » Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:36 pm

Hi,

@codemastr

thx. :)

What a fake. I do not like the idea anymore.


Regards, Stoebi

codemastr
Former UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by codemastr » Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:56 pm

Hehe, it's a nice idea, the problem is, if they just added those characters as being allowed, it would break all the current clients. So the problem is, how do you add internationalization support, but at the same time, not break everything?
-- codemastr

Capitaine
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 6:09 pm

Post by Capitaine » Mon Apr 26, 2004 7:10 pm

Client and server should negociate charset/locale at connection time.
Like HTTP does.

Anyway, clients would have to be updated as well.

Post Reply