Real Basic Stuff

Talk about pretty much anything here, but DO NOT USE FOR SUPPORT.

Moderator: Supporters

Ares

Real Basic Stuff

Post by Ares »

Hey everyone, i'm a total newbie to your forum and to unrealircd. I've got some very basic questions. I've been browsing the site, and i'm not done surfing it, but i wanted to post and get some info from some people on the forum.

I'm looking for an IRC daemon that will allow me to run my own chatserver with the full line of things like nickserv, chanserv, etc., and one which i wouldn't be required to connect to any other servers ( i want to be independent for now ). I dont want to be hampered with limitations on the amount of users (as many users as i want) and i don't want an irc daemon that's gonna have certain features turned off. Making donations is fine by me, if it means full use of the code to do as i want with no limitations on my server. So my question is...

Have i found this in Unreal IRCD??
- Ares
codemastr
Former UnrealIRCd head coder

Post by codemastr »

Services are a seperate program. Other than that, everything you said describes almost every IRCd. As for user limits, that, depends. On Windows, Unreal is limited to about 1000 connections maximum. That's just because of the way Windows is. On *nix, you're limited to how ever many the system allows you.
-- codemastr
Ares

Post by Ares »

Thanks codemastr. I'm aware of the limitations windows gives us. Good ol' Bill Gates, heh.

I'm looking to run unreal on a windows platform only temporarly, until i get my linux server built in a few weeks.

I haven't seen too many windows ircd's. Are there any issues regarding this one that i should be aware of before i jump into it (windows or unix)?

Any advice you can give a newbie? Any places of study, any pages on this website worth looking at in depth?
- Ares
aquanight
Official supporter

Post by aquanight »

Ares wrote:I haven't seen too many windows ircd's.
That's because: