IP advice please.

Talk about pretty much anything here, but DO NOT USE FOR SUPPORT.

Moderator: Supporters

Post Reply
Nograd

IP advice please.

Post by Nograd » Sun Jun 03, 2007 10:50 am

Hi,

We have a particular problem with a Turkish ISP. This ISP has multiple small blocks of IP addresses. This is making for hard work shunning each small block as a problem arises. Is there any way to trace all the IP address ranges in use from them that anyone knows of please?

Jobe1986
Official supporter
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Jobe1986 » Sun Jun 03, 2007 11:25 am

Short of getting in touch with the ISP directly the only other way I can think of involves getting in touch with the registra that handles IP address allocation for whichever region the ISP falls in. Which I personally dont know how to do or even if it's possible.

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth » Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:20 pm

http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/

Lookup country Turkey, then ISP ttnet.net.tr

That website will give you a listing af all the IP ranges for that ISP that were used for spamming. This is a good number of the IPs from Turkey, as well as the ones used to attack IRC

seraphim
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:10 am

Post by seraphim » Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:39 pm

thx from me too stealth, the network where i´m on gots problems too with turkey flooders :) (its a botnet which floods ouer servers till they are down...)

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth » Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:27 pm

seraphim wrote:thx from me too stealth, the network where i´m on gots problems too with turkey flooders :) (its a botnet which floods ouer servers till they are down...)
For that I would suggest using zlines, so there is less data being sent to the botnets. It is likely the data being sent between the bots and the server is causing bandwidth issues making your servers unreachable.

For extreme cases (like when zlines don't work), you might want to have your host add those to the system firewall

Post Reply