Badwords how?

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
xtend
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:29 pm

Badwords how?

Post by xtend »

Hi everybody,

I can imagine that this feature is very easy to use, but i've not been able to get the badwords filtered out.

I used the example.conf as a start with:
include "badwords.channel.conf";
include "badwords.message.conf";
include "badwords.quit.conf";

I also added this later on to test:
badword all {
word "thisbadword";
};

The mode should be +G (so I believe):
I've set this value in set{}:
modes-on-connect "+ixwG";

What did I do wrong or did not do?

Thanks in advance!
codemastr
Former UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by codemastr »

It looks correct to me, my guess is you're looking at your own text.

If you type something that has "badwords" in it, you see the badwords on your screen, it is only the other people that see "<censored>"
-- codemastr
Ron2K

Post by Ron2K »

And therefore, the only real way of testing badwords is to "clone" yourself, then type in the badwords in one client and see how they come out in the other. If you get <censored> (or whatever you specified), then you're fine. If not, you've buggered up and you'll have to read the documentation to see where you went wrong.
eQuiliBrium
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:42 am
Location: Netherland (Amsterdam)
Contact:

Post by eQuiliBrium »

UnrealIrcd.conf Official Documentation wrote:

Code: Select all

Syntax:

badword <type> {
	word <text-to-match>;
	replace <replace-with>;
	action <replace|block>;
};

The badword block allows you to manipulate the list used for user and channel mode +G to strip "badwords". The badword:: specifies the type, valid types are channel, message, quit, and all. channel is for the channel +G list, message is for the user +G list, quit is for quit message censoring, and all adds it to all three lists. The badword::word can be a simple word or a regular expression we should search for. The badword::replace is what we should replace this match with. If badword::replace is left out, the word is replaced with <censored>. The badword::action defines what action should be taken if this badword is found. If you specify replace, then the badword is replaced, if you specify block, then the entire message is blocked. If you do not specify a badword::action, replace is assumed.

Example:


badword channel {
	word shit;
	replace shoot;
}; 
Just to be shure about that there is nothing wrong.
Try to add the "action <replace|block>;" string to your badword blok in your unrealircd.conf.
Els i dont see anything wrong too.
Looks fine from here.

And if you are doing any test's i strongly urg you to use a clone like Ron2K sad in his respons.
Let me think about it
xtend
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:29 pm

Post by xtend »

Thanks for the reactions!

I followed up your advises, but with no succes. I used multiple clients to see the result, so I believe it just does not mask the badword.

I was wondering... Like I said above. I did a clean installation and copied the example.conf. That file includes the standard badword.xxx.conf files.
Isn't it so that those words just should work from scratch in +G mode? Or did the autors build in another setting to enable them?


Here's my startup message from Unreal:
:arrow:
[ircd Unreal]# ./unreal start
Starting UnrealIRCd
unlimit core size failed; errno = 1
_ _ _ ___________ _____ _
| | | | | |_ _| ___ \/ __ \ | |
| | | |_ __ _ __ ___ __ _| | | | | |_/ /| / \/ __| |
| | | | '_ \| '__/ _ \/ _` | | | | | / | | / _` |
| |_| | | | | | | __/ (_| | |_| |_| |\ \ | \__/\ (_| |
\___/|_| |_|_| \___|\__,_|_|\___/\_| \_| \____/\__,_|
v3.2-RC2fix

* Loading IRCd configuration ..
* Configuration loaded without any problems ..
* Loading tunefile..
* Dynamic configuration initialized .. booting IRCd.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
:arrow:

Maybe there's something wrong with this. Should it say "badword.xxx.conf loaded" or something?

Someone can help me out wth this? Thank you!
Ron2K

Post by Ron2K »

Hmm. This one is strange. If you include the badwords.*.conf files or put badwords blocks in your unrealircd.conf, it should work.

Bit of a dumb question, but have you set +G in the right place (user/channel)? Because if you're testing channel badwords and you set +G for user, nothing will happen. And make sure that your clone set it too.

If it's doing this with badwords.all, then I don't know what's going on there.

I've got a badwords.all.conf file (which I made myself) lying around at home. If you PM me with an e-mail address, I'll send it off to you and let you play around with it.
eQuiliBrium
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:42 am
Location: Netherland (Amsterdam)
Contact:

Post by eQuiliBrium »

This is very strange.
Perhaps you can provid us with the hole unrealirc.conf.
To help you more cos this is nuts.
If you have done all the above you sould be ok.
Last edited by eQuiliBrium on Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Let me think about it
Ron2K

Post by Ron2K »

I thought up another dumb question in the shower this morning (I've a habit of doing it, you see) - you did remember to rehash, didn't you?

(Apologies to everyone else for asking these - but I've lost count of how many times I've forgotten to do something simple and end up running around like a chicken with its head chopped off screaming like a girl.)
eQuiliBrium
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:42 am
Location: Netherland (Amsterdam)
Contact:

Post by eQuiliBrium »

xtend wrote:Here's my startup message from Unreal:
:arrow:
[ircd Unreal]# ./unreal start
Starting UnrealIRCd
unlimit core size failed; errno = 1
_ _ _ ___________ _____ _
| | | | | |_ _| ___ \/ __ \ | |
| | | |_ __ _ __ ___ __ _| | | | | |_/ /| / \/ __| |
| | | | '_ \| '__/ _ \/ _` | | | | | / | | / _` |
| |_| | | | | | | __/ (_| | |_| |_| |\ \ | \__/\ (_| |
\___/|_| |_|_| \___|\__,_|_|\___/\_| \_| \____/\__,_|
v3.2-RC2fix

* Loading IRCd configuration ..
* Configuration loaded without any problems ..
* Loading tunefile..
* Dynamic configuration initialized .. booting IRCd.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
:arrow:
I am not a UNIX expert but there sould not be any error's after a startup of your ircD.
Let me think about it
penna
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 5:50 am
Location: Germany

Post by penna »

ulimit -c unlimited for unlimited core size can be restricted for good reasons on mass shell hostings. and unreal sees it only as a warning too. because only if it crashes you don't have a backtrace so a bug report would be useless if the core dump exceeds the size of ulimit -c
xtend
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:29 pm

Post by xtend »

Yes, I've rehash and stop/start the server. Tnx Ron2K, any help is appreciated!

Like eQuiliBrium said, maybe my conf sais something to you?
:arrow: http://www.di2media.nl/unreal.txt
I've done nothing with the badword.xxx.conf files.

:arrow: Or try the server at di2media.nl

btw. it runs on a Sun Raq550, maybe that gives somebody any ideas.

Thanks again.
Shadow
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 5:27 am

Post by Shadow »

Try setting a channel +G and swearing with a client in it while watching another.

Also next time you post your config file, remove all the passwords from it first ;)
xtend
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:29 pm

Post by xtend »

Tnx Shadow, how to set +G for channel? I'm not to much into IRC.
I just want to write a chat app for a kids site and use irc as server.

For now I don't believe that the passwords can do any harm, I just want those badwords to works.
Sjef
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 10:12 am
Location: Mijnstreek Oost
Contact:

Post by Sjef »

xtend wrote:Tnx Shadow, how to set +G for channel? I'm not to much into IRC.
I just want to write a chat app for a kids site and use irc as server.

For now I don't believe that the passwords can do any harm, I just want those badwords to works.
If you are a channel operator do:

Code: Select all

/mode #channelname +G
xtend
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:29 pm

Post by xtend »

Allright,

I tried again with two clients and have first set channel mode to +G and...

:o ...now it does work:!:

Tnx Sjef and everybody else for thinking with me!

Now I can go on find out how to auto set +G in channel mode, a fixed set moderator, and more irc stuff, cause I'm not all that in irc! :P

cu on irc
Post Reply