RH 9.0 and FD Limit

Talk about pretty much anything here, but DO NOT USE FOR SUPPORT.

Moderator: Supporters

Locked
LoVeRbOy
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 2:35 pm
Location: top of clouds

RH 9.0 and FD Limit

Post by LoVeRbOy »

Hello;
Does anybody tried to make RH9.0 worked more than 1024 open files?

It is working normal with root access but even root cant raise open file limit for userx. Some sites says "it is for DOS attacks that will come from user". But as i know making IRCD work under root is not a good idea.

Generally all helps about open file limit problems are for 7.2. And yes they are solving. But even i found few helps about 9.0 it doesnt solve.

I am looking for an answer from a Redhat 9.0 user that can use for example 10000 fd limit for userx.(not root)
Dr Thrall
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: 60/1 GIKI
Contact:

Post by Dr Thrall »

if u r a programmer then do c the manual of getrlimit/setrlimit
eQuiliBrium
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:42 am
Location: Netherland (Amsterdam)
Contact:

Post by eQuiliBrium »

Why would you like to do that ?
Having 10.000 users on one server will make serious LAG on that server.

For some time now i have been holding a MAX usercount of 1016.
And i have an shell acount by a ircD provider.
Let me think about it
LoVeRbOy
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 2:35 pm
Location: top of clouds

Post by LoVeRbOy »

Well i have more users than 1000

generally 3000 sometimes 4000.(now low for some ISP reasons)

i cant see the point of making 4 servers with different ip addresses and different names at the same box.

irc.blabla.com
irc2.blabla.com
irc3.blabla.com
ircwhatever.blabla.com

Doesnt look good to me.

Maybe if i get 10000 user i can make 2*5000.

By the way Unreal worked without lag with 4000 user and with lots of all connection in use msgs at my old box.
SciFi
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 6:44 pm
Contact:

Post by SciFi »

there's a hard limit in the kernel, you can't have more fds than this. if you want to increase it you have to compile a kernel and change it. codemastr told me once that they maybe will add an option so it uses poll() and not select() and then that problem is solved for systems supporting poll() anyway :)
but i think that will take much time until it's added. but you actually could just run multiple ircds and link them.

google about increasing fd limit in the kernel or so if you want to change it.
-- Denis 'SciFi' Simonet
Syzop
UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: .nl
Contact:

Post by Syzop »

SciFi: no that's incorrect @ kernelbla, see http://www.vulnscan.org/UnrealIrcd/faq/#46

Anyway, LoVeRbOy already tried all this but without success (and I don't have RH9).
LoVeRbOy
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 2:35 pm
Location: top of clouds

Post by LoVeRbOy »

Sorry a little late for answer but at last we found a solution :)

As the system admin we create a init....smth like that.
/etc/initscript

umask 022
ulimit -n 16384
PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin
export PATH

eval exec "$4"

Result a server with 10000 user limit. ( can accept more )
Syzop
UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: .nl
Contact:

Post by Syzop »

Does that mean the ircd runs as root?
codemastr
Former UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 811
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:47 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Post by codemastr »

SciFi, adding poll() support doesn't remove the fd limit. The only thing select() does that poll() doesn't with regard to socket limits is FD_SETSIZE. And that can be changed. poll() will have the same limits select() does. If the sysadmin only wants you to have 256 sockets, it doesn't matter what selection method you use, you can only have 256 sockets.
-- codemastr
LoVeRbOy
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 2:35 pm
Location: top of clouds

Post by LoVeRbOy »

Syzop Nope...it only gives all users 16000 limit.

so i run ircd from a user.
venomx

Post by venomx »

Be glad you can have 1024. When I set up unreal it wouldnt start.. said I could only use 100 and had to change the limit in the file.
Locked