Roll Over HUBs?

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
Klint
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:29 pm

Roll Over HUBs?

Post by Klint »

How do I make it where if one of my hups drop the Leafs roll over to the next? Thanks...
Mark
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 4:01 pm

Post by Mark »

Let all leafs have a link block to all the hubs you want, don't make them auto-connect.

Make link blocks to the leafs on your hubs, make them auto-connect. When 1 hub fails, the leafs will also disconnect, and one of the hubs will auto-connect to the leafs.

(Thats how we do it, can't think of another way.)
Klint
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:29 pm

Post by Klint »

Can you give me an example of your ircd.conf?
Mark
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 4:01 pm

Post by Mark »

Config on a leaf:

Code: Select all

link                    hub.number.one
 {
        username        *;
        hostname        12.34.56.78;
        bind-ip         *;
        port            7001;
        leaf             *;
        password-connect "pass";
        password-receive "pass";
        class           servers;
 };

link                    hub.number.two
{
        username        *;
        hostname        87.65.43.21;
        bind-ip         *;
        port            7001;
        leaf             *;
        password-connect "pass";
        password-receive "pass";
        class           servers;
};

Config on hub 1:

Code: Select all

link                    leaf.one
 {
        username        *;
        hostname        12.34.56.78;
        bind-ip         *;
        port            7001;
        hub             *;
        password-connect "pass";
        password-receive "pass";
        class           servers;
        options {
              autoconnect;
        };
 };
Config on hub 2:

Code: Select all

link                    leaf.one
{
        username        *;
        hostname        12.34.56.78;
        bind-ip         *;
        port            7001;
        hub             *;
        password-connect "pass";
        password-receive "pass";
        class           servers;
        options {
                autoconnect;
        };
};

And of course the 2 hubs should be linked too :)


Say, leaf 1 is linked to hub 1, hub 1 is linked to hub 2

hub 1 -- hub 2
|
|
leaf 1


Now hub 1 fails, so hub 2 looses hub1 and leaf1. Because of hub2 having the autoconnect option to leaf1, it will try to link to leaf1

hub 2
|
|
leaf 1


And as soon as hub1 comes back, hub2 links to hub1, and leaf1 will still be linked to hub2 (until hub2 fails)



-edit-
Of course you can also make the leafs use autoconnect! Don't know for sure why we let the hubs use autoconnect, gets rather annoying if a server drops out for some time.
Post Reply