Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
Zantox
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:57 pm

Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by Zantox »

Hello Everyone,
I've been trying to get Anope to work with my UnrealIRCd but have been having quite a bit of trouble.
I'm not really "new" to the conecpts or setup of IRC servers, I feel like I have just made a stupid mistake and my eyes are just weary and need someone else to tell me what it is.

In my UnrealIRCd Config File, I Have:

Code: Select all

link            test.com
{
	username	*;
	hostname 	127.0.0.1;
	bind-ip 	*;
	port 		6667;
	hub             *;
	password-connect "password1";
	password-receive "password1";
	class           servers;
		options {
			/* Note: You should not use autoconnect when linking services */
			//autoconnect;
			//ssl;
			//zip;
		};
};
In My Anope Config File I have:

Code: Select all

RemoteServer    127.0.0.1 6667 "password1"

Code: Select all

ServerName  "test.com"

Code: Select all

NetworkName "test.com"
All Help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!
Thanks!
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by katsklaw »

Looks ok to me. A few things to check.

Insure you upload your config files if you are not editing them on your shell.
Insure you /rehash unreal if you make changes to your unrealircd.conf
Insure you can connect on 127.0.0.1 port 6667 as a client.
Insure you are an ircop while trying to connect so you can see errors
Always read your services logs for errors.
Always share errors with us so we can offer more accurate help.
Zantox
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by Zantox »

katsklaw wrote:Insure you upload your config files if you are not editing them on your shell.
I am running Windows. So umm... yea?
katsklaw wrote:Insure you /rehash unreal if you make changes to your unrealircd.conf
Yea I have been doing that or restarting the server.
katsklaw wrote:Insure you can connect on 127.0.0.1 port 6667 as a client.
Yep, I can
katsklaw wrote:Insure you are an ircop while trying to connect so you can see errors
I am, I never see anything come up regaurding Anope tho
katsklaw wrote:Always read your services logs for errors.
Alrighty, where are those located?
Zantox
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by Zantox »

As a side note: When I click Anope while my IRC server is running and connected as a oper
I get no messages about it attempting to connect or anything..?
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by katsklaw »

Logs for anope are in the logs directory. Anope logs both successes and failures so there has to be something somewhere. If i remember correctly, anope has several startup options in its start menu.

Secondly, using windows does not guarantee that you are editing the correct copy of services.conf.
Zantox
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by Zantox »

katsklaw wrote:Logs for anope are in the logs directory. Anope logs both successes and failures so there has to be something somewhere. If i remember correctly, anope has several startup options in its start menu.

Secondly, using windows does not guarantee that you are editing the correct copy of services.conf.
Ok, I checked the log file.
It only said this:

Code: Select all

[Oct 28 15:13:59 2012] services.conf:392: UserKey2: Expected a positive integer for parameter 1
[Oct 28 15:28:03 2012] services.conf:392: UserKey2: Expected a positive integer for parameter 1
[Oct 28 15:29:00 2012] services.conf:392: UserKey2: Expected a positive integer for parameter 1
Not sure what this means.

As for the not editing right copy of services.conf,
I have only had one, I used example.conf and edited it and then saved as services.conf in the data folder.
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by katsklaw »

Paste your user keys from services.conf, please.
Zantox
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by Zantox »

katsklaw wrote:Paste your user keys from services.conf, please.

Code: Select all

UserKey1 9980014
UserKey2 0233658
UserKey3 5785004
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by katsklaw »

Try changing UserKey2 to a number that doesn't start with a 0
Zantox
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by Zantox »

katsklaw wrote:Try changing UserKey2 to a number that doesn't start with a 0
Awesome! That got it to atleast give me a message as a oper while connected to my server.
Says:

Code: Select all

[22:14] --irc.test.com-- *** LocOps -- Link [@127.0.0.1.49497] denied, colliding server numeric
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by katsklaw »

A numeric collision is from having more than 1 server using the same numeric. No 2 servers can use the same numeric. One trick I do to help prevent this is to break the numeric range (0-254) up into sections that match my servers geographical area, for example USA servers have numerics from 1-15, EU has 16-30 .. etc. I reserve numerics of 250-254 for U:Lined servers like Services and stats servers since there shouldn't be more than 5 U:Lined servers on the network ... ever.
Zantox
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by Zantox »

Ok. I have been able to get things workin and have Nick/Chan/Bot Serv.

When I create a bot however, and Assign it to a channel, within secounds of it joining, Anope crashes and I get this from the oper:

Code: Select all

[20:29][20:31] --irc.test.com-- *** Notice -- Max SendQ limit exceeded for test.com[127.0.0.1]: 1000016 > 1000000
[20:31] --irc.test.com-- *** Global -- Closing link: Max SendQ exceeded - test.com[127.0.0.1]
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by katsklaw »

You have improper ulines. Click the configuration link in my signature and find u:lines aka ulines block. After you fix it and /rehash you must restart services.

On another note, i reported this issue with using a 0 as the first digit on the UserKeys to anope as a bug and it is fixed Nd will appear in anope 1.8.8.
Zantox
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by Zantox »

Yep got that fixed.
All is good now.
My next question is: I cannot get other computers besides localhost to connect :(
I use port 6667 and forwarded it, but it isn't working
Get connection timed out.
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble with Anope and UnrealIRCd

Post by katsklaw »

You will need a listen block bound to an ip other than 127.0.0.1 such as 192.168.1.2 if this a home connection or an external ip if you are on a shell account somewhere. You can only bind to an ip that is assigned to the machine.
Post Reply