I'm probably missing something really obvious here

The UnrealIRCd team does not officially provide support for any services packages that you may be using or want to use. This forum is provided so the community can help each other with services issues.

Moderator: Supporters

SwooshyCueb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:44 am

I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by SwooshyCueb »

Trying to get Atheme on Unreal.

I'm seeing this in the server status after rehash:

Code: Select all

[21:40:56] * *** Notice -- SwooshyCueb is rehashing server config file
[21:40:56] * unrealircd.conf :Rehashing
[21:40:56] * *** Notice -- Loading IRCd configuration ..
[21:40:56] * *** Notice -- Configuration loaded without any problems ..
[21:41:02] * *** Notice -- (link) Link vps.ocularraindrop.net -> svc.ocularraindrop.net[@127.0.0.1.42234] established
So everything looks fine, but when I try to use a service, I get "Services are currently down. Please try again later."

Here's my link block:

Code: Select all

link            svc.ocularraindrop.net
{
	username	*;
	hostname 	127.0.0.1;
	bind-ip 	*;
	port 		6667;
	hub             *;
	password-connect "you'relinkedbaby";
	password-receive "linkmebaby";
	class           servers;
		options {
			/* Note: You should not use autoconnect when linking services */
			
		};
};
And my ulines:

Code: Select all

ulines {
	vps.ocularraindrop.net;
	svc.ocularraindrop.net;
};
And my set block (or part of it):

Code: Select all

set {
	network-name 		"Ouclar Raindrop IRC";
	default-server 		"vps.ocularraindrop.net";
	services-server 	"svc.ocularraindrop.net";
	stats-server 		"svc.ocularraindrop.net";
	help-channel 		"#help";
...
Snippet of serverinfo from atheme.conf

Code: Select all

serverinfo {
	name = "svc.ocularraindrop.net";
	desc = "Atheme IRC Services";
	numeric = "00A";
	recontime = 10;
	netname = "Ocular Raindrop IRC";
	hidehostsuffix = "host.hidden";
...
Uplink from atheme:

Code: Select all

uplink "vps.ocularraindrop.net" {
	host = "127.0.0.1";
	send_password = "linkmebaby";
	receive_password = "you'relinkedbaby";
	port = 6667;
};
So what am I missing here?
Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by Stealth »

Never add a user server to your U:Lines.

Everything else looks OK, so that may be the problem.
SwooshyCueb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:44 am

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by SwooshyCueb »

Removed vps.ocularraindrop.net from the ulines, still getting the same problem.

/map returns this, in case it helps:

Code: Select all

[22:13:25] * vps.ocularraindrop.net    (1)  1
[22:13:25] * `-svc.ocularraindrop.net  (0)  
[22:13:25] * End of /MAP
tgzero
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 9:36 am

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by tgzero »

Might need to add

Code: Select all

include "./aliases/atheme.conf";
To your unrealircd.conf
SwooshyCueb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:44 am

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by SwooshyCueb »

Still no dice. Should I upload the entire config files somewhere and PM them to you?
Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by Stealth »

do a /stats S (capital S) and output what it has for set::services-server, then /stats U (capital U) for what Unreal thinks your u:lines are.
SwooshyCueb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:44 am

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by SwooshyCueb »

/stats S gives me "services-server: svc.ocularraindrop.net"
/stats U gives me

Code: Select all

[07:23:53] * U svc.ocularraindrop.net
[07:23:53] * U :End of /STATS report
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by katsklaw »

22:13:25] * `-svc.ocularraindrop.net (0) <---------------------

There are no services users. The number in parentheses is the number of clients connected to that server, in this case 0 ..

Unlike other packages, Atheme bots are optional. Please review your Atheme configuration and documentation and insure you have bots enabled.
SwooshyCueb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:44 am

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by SwooshyCueb »

They appear to be enabled. The modules are loaded and set up as far as I can tell. http://min.bz/mr5lGd
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by katsklaw »

That image doesn't have anything to do with the actual loading of the bots. Loading the bots themselves have nothing to do with loading of their respective modules. Bots are configured much farther down the config file in the "Services Configuration" section.

An unannotated OperServ block might look like this:

Code: Select all

operserv {
        nick = "OperServ";
        user = "OperServ";
        host = "services.int";
        real = "Operator Services";
        aliases {
        };
        access {
        };
};
SwooshyCueb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:44 am

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by SwooshyCueb »

Sorry, second link didn't paste. But now that I think about it, it might be a good idea to just go ahead and post my *serv blocks.

Code: Select all

nickserv {
	spam;
	nick = "NickServ";
	user = "NickServ";
	host = "srv.ocularraindrop.net";
	real = "Nickname Services";
	aliases {
		"ID" = "IDENTIFY";
		"MYACCESS" = "LISTCHANS";
		"REG" = "REGISTER";
		"HOST" = "VHOST";
	};
	access {
	};
	maxnicks = 5;
	expire = 120;
	emailexempts {
		"[email protected]";
	};
};

chanserv {
	nick = "ChanServ";
	user = "ChanServ";
	host = "srv.ocularraindrop.net";
	real = "Channel Services";
	aliases {
		"KBAN" = "KICKBAN";
		"REG" = "REGISTER";
		"TAPPEND" = "TOPICAPPEND";
		"TPREPEND" = "TOPICPREPEND";
	};
	access {
	};
	maxchans = 30;
	fantasy;
	templates {
		vop = "+AV";
		hop = "+AHhtv";
		aop = "+AOhiortv";
		sop = "+AOafhiorstv";

		founder = "+AFORafhiorstv";
	};

	trigger = "!";
	expire = 90;
	maxchanacs = 0;
	maxfounders = 16;
	antiflood_enforce_method = quiet;
};
global {
	nick = "GLaDOS";
	user = "GLaDOS";
	host = "aperturescience.com";
	real = "Genetic Lifeform and Disk Operating System";
};

infoserv {
	nick = "XANA";
	user = "XANA";
	host = "host.not.found";
	real = "XANA";
	logoninfo_count = 5;
};
operserv {
	nick = "OperServ";
	user = "OperServ";
	host = "srv.ocularraindrop.net";
	real = "Operator Services";
	aliases {
	};
	access {
	};
};

memoserv {
	nick = "MemoServ";
	user = "MemoServ";
	host = "srv.ocularraindrop.net";
	real = "Memo Services";
	aliases {
	};
	access {
	};
	maxmemos = 30;
};
gameserv {
	nick = "GameServ";
	user = "GameServ";
	host = "srv.ocularraindrop.net";
	real = "Game Services";
	aliases {
		"8BALL" = "EIGHTBALL";
	};
	access {
	};
};

rpgserv {
	nick = "RPGServ";
	user = "RPGServ";
	host = "srv.ocularraindrop.net";
	real = "RPG Finding Services";
	aliases {
	};
	access {
	};
};

botserv {
	nick = "BotServ";
	user = "BotServ";
	host = "srv.ocularraindrop.net";
	real = "Bot Services";
	min_users = 0;
};

groupserv {
	nick = "GroupServ";
	user = "GroupServ";
	host = "srv.ocularraindrop.net";
	real = "Group Managment Services";
	aliases {
	};
	access {
	};
	maxgroups = 5;
	maxgroupacs = 100;
	enable_open_groups;
	join_flags = "+";
};
So as you can see, they are set up.
SwooshyCueb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:44 am

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by SwooshyCueb »

And in case it might help, here's the log from the last time I started atheme:

Code: Select all

[07/06/2013 22:44:56] atheme 7.1.0-alpha1 is starting up...
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] module_locate_symbol(): nickserv/set_core is not loaded.
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] module_load(): module /opt/irc/atheme/bin/modules/nickserv/set_core is already loaded [at 0x2341a50]
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] module_load(): module /opt/irc/atheme/bin/modules/groupserv/main is already loaded [at 0x2347ea0]
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] opensex: grammar version is 1.
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] corestorage: data schema version is 12.
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] groupserv: opensex data schema version is 4.
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] uplink_connect(): connecting to first entry vps.ocularraindrop.net[127.0.0.1]:6667.
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] pid 21640
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] running in background mode from /opt/irc/atheme/bin
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] irc_handle_connect(): connection to uplink established
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] server_add(): vps.ocularraindrop.net (), uplink svc.ocularraindrop.net
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] OPER: SwooshyCueb (vps.ocularraindrop.net)
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] handle_eob(): end of burst from vps.ocularraindrop.net (1 users)
[07/06/2013 22:44:56] m_pong(): finished synching with uplink (8 ms)
EDIT: It looks like the time on the VPS isn't set correctly. Dunno if that has anything to do with it or not though.
katsklaw
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by katsklaw »

SwooshyCueb wrote:EDIT: It looks like the time on the VPS isn't set correctly. Dunno if that has anything to do with it or not though.

It certainly does. IF there is a gap between what the ircd sees and what services sees, there will be a desync. Yes I know both ircd and services are on the same computer, but Unreal enables it's own internal time based on internet time, Atheme doesn't. This causes a problem because they will have 2 differnt times. Read about disabling timesync by clicking on the configuration link in my signature.

If this is a public server that you own, you should install ntpdate and configure cron to keep your clock synched. If this is a shell provider, the admin of the machine should do it.
SwooshyCueb
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:44 am

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by SwooshyCueb »

After disabling timesync, updating my timezone, and syncing the machine's time, the issue has still not been fixed.
nenolod
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 10:30 pm

Re: I'm probably missing something really obvious here

Post by nenolod »

Where did you get your copy of Atheme from?

If it is GIT, you need to comment out the serverinfo::numeric, as it will try to use the new Unreal 3.4 link protocol, which Unreal 3.2 obviously does not support.

Eventually, this will be fixed, but not right now.
Locked