Problem with allow-line

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Itsme-HcK
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Nijmegen
Contact:

Problem with allow-line

Post by Itsme-HcK »

I don't really know how to say this and my English is really bad, so correct me if I'm wrong ;)

I wanted to run a bouncer on my own server, so I added this lines: (the passworded one for emergency)

Code: Select all

allow {
	ip *@*;
	hostname *@*;
	class clients;
	password "omgImHided";
	maxperip 50;
};

allow {
	ip *@127.0.0.1;
	hostname *@*;
	class clients;
	maxperip 50;
};
This doesn't work.... Why?
Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat »

What exactly "doesn't work"?

Your allow blocks should let everybody in on your server.

I suggest you re-read the documentation on allow blocks:
http://www.vulnscan.org/UnrealIRCd/unre ... allowblock
Itsme-HcK
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Nijmegen
Contact:

Post by Itsme-HcK »

Well, it says I have too much connected clients (4) :|
Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat »

Can you please paste the exact error?
Itsme-HcK
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Nijmegen
Contact:

Post by Itsme-HcK »

[18:38] Closing Link: Trivia-Bot[127.0.0.1] (Too many connections from your IP)
w00t
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 3:31 am
Location: Nowra, Australia

Post by w00t »

I wonder if that could be services disconnecting you? Most services packages have a configured limit on the number of connections from an IP.
-ChatSpike IRC Network [http://www.chatspike.net]
-Denora Stats [http://denora.nomadirc.net]
-Omerta [http://www.barafranca.com]
Itsme-HcK
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Nijmegen
Contact:

Post by Itsme-HcK »

No, look @ the error...
And I made the services myself, WITHOUT user limit ;)
Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat »

Did you change the limit from a lower number to 50 and forgot to rehash?
Itsme-HcK
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Nijmegen
Contact:

Post by Itsme-HcK »

I've even restarted the server.... ^^
Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat »

Please paste the output of /stats I
Itsme-HcK
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Nijmegen
Contact:

Post by Itsme-HcK »

The output:
i *@* * *@* 5 clients irc.frnet.org 6667
i *@* * *@localhost 0 clients irc.frnet.org 6667
i *@* * *@* 0 clients irc.frnet.org 6667
i *@192.168.1.33 * *@* 20 clients irc.frnet.org 6667
i end of /stats report
Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat »

You have 4 allow blocks. The two you pasted above are not appearing.

Are you sure you are editing the correct file?
Itsme-HcK
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Nijmegen
Contact:

Post by Itsme-HcK »

yes, I added an IRCop yesterday, and he had his powers...

This is btw my whole allow block:

Code: Select all

allow {
ip *@192.168.1.33;
hostname *@*;
class clients;
maxperip 20;
};

allow {
	ip *@*;
	hostname *@*;
	class clients;
	password "omg I'm hided";
};

allow {
	ip *@127.0.0.1;
	hostname *@*;
	class clients;
	maxperip 50;
};

allow {
	ip             *@*;
	hostname       *@*;
	class           clients;
	maxperip 5;
};
Dukat
Posts: 1083
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Switzerland

Post by Dukat »

Alright, then everything is ok.

Now please read the docs if you don't understand how the matching and the order work.
http://www.vulnscan.org/UnrealIRCd/unre ... allowblock
Itsme-HcK
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:28 pm
Location: Nijmegen
Contact:

Post by Itsme-HcK »

Code: Select all

allow {
	ip             *@*;
	hostname       *@*;
	class           clients;
	maxperip 5;
};

allow {
ip *@192.168.1.33;
hostname *@192.168.1.33;
class clients;
maxperip 20;
};

allow {
	ip *@127.0.0.1;
	hostname *@127.0.0.1;
	class clients;
	maxperip 50;
};

allow {
	ip *@*;
	hostname *@*;
	class clients;
	password "vanmij";
};
It has to be like that right? (it doesn't work...)
Post Reply