Page 1 of 2

Problem with Linking

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:29 pm
by MoW_JoW
I installed Unreal3.2 on 2 servers. The hub and the services are linked.
But the hub and the leaf don´t want to link.
11.06. [17:26:30] -DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org- *** Notice -- Connection to hub.SocietY-neT.org[62.112.152.179] activated.

11.06. [17:26:30] -DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org- *** Global -- Closing link: Write error: Connection refused - hub.SocietY-neT.org[62.112.152.179]
unrealircd.conf from the hub:
link DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org
{
username *;
hostname 217.160.166.3;
bind-ip *;
port 7337;
password-connect "****";
password-receive "****";
class servers;
};
unrealircd.conf from the leaf:
link hub.SocietY-neT.org
{
username *;
hostname 62.112.152.179;
bind-ip *;
port 7337;
password-connect "****";
password-receive "****";
class servers;
options {
autoconnect;
};
};
what can I do ?

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:32 pm
by aquanight
The hub needs:

Code: Select all

listen *:7337;
Setting the bind-ip and port on the hub don't automatically make it ok to accept connections to that ip and port. You have to have a listen directive to tell the server open that port on that IP.

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:52 pm
by MoW_JoW
I added.
My new problem :
11.06. [18:26:58] -DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org- *** Notice -- Connection to hub.SocietY-neT.org[62.112.152.179] activated.

11.06. [18:26:59] -DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org- *** Notice -- (link) Link DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org -> hub.SocietY-neT.org[[email protected]] established

11.06. [18:26:59] -DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org- (link) Link hub.SocietY-neT.org -> DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org[@217.160.166.3.59100] established

11.06. [18:26:59] -DeineMamma.SocietY-neT.org- *** LocOps -- Link hub.SocietY-neT.org cancelled, is Non-Hub but introduced Leaf Services.SocietY-neT.org

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 8:12 pm
by AngryWolf
Then solve it. :) RTFM.

Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:46 pm
by jewles
how is it this is becoming the most common problem when it's the easiest thing....


READ!!!

Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 4:03 am
by aquanight
jewles wrote:how is it this is becoming the most common problem when it's the easiest thing....


READ!!!
The answer is simple ;) . People are getting lazy and don't want to do any of the work themselves - they want someone to do it for them :P .

Someone needs to post a sticky RTFM thread ;) .

Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:58 am
by w00t
I'd do it, unfortunatly, im neither admin, nor Mod. I'll have to design a nice sig with "RTFM--love w00t" in it, and use that ;)

PS, i'll make it so others can use if they want to... :P

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:02 am
by tuete
sorry for bumping this old thread, but i have the same problem as described above, and i'm not able to find a solution for more than 2 days now.

i'm trying to link 2 servers, one machine is hub, services are also running on this box. the link blocks of this box look like the following:

Code: Select all

link            *hostname.of.leaf*
{
        username        *;
        hostname        *ip of leaf*;
        bind-ip         *;
        port            9000;
        hub             *;

        password-connect *******;
        password-receive *******;
        class           servers;
                options {
                ssl;
                };
};


link            *services.hub*
{
        username        *;
        hostname        127.0.0.1;
        bind-ip         *;
        port            9005;
        hub             *;
        password-connect *****;
        password-receive *******;
        class           servers;
                options {
                };
};
link block of the other box:

Code: Select all

link            **hostname of hub**
{
        username        *;
        hostname        **ip of hub**;
        bind-ip         *;
        port            9000;
        leaf             *;
        password-connect ****;
        password-receive ******;
        class           servers;
                options {
        autoconnect;
        ssl;
        };
};
the thing i don't understand is, with running services the servers don't link, the leaf aborts with

[11:57:42] *** LocOps -- Link **hostname of hub** cancelled, is Non-Hub but introduced Leaf services.**hub**

when i shut down the services, the servers link fine, get synced and everything else. when i restart the services, the link gets broken, but services work fine o.O

i also tried to put services on the leaf-box, but effect is still the same. i also read the fucking manual :lol: , but couldn't find an answer to my problem.

thx in advance,
tuete

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:43 am
by Solutech
http://forums.unrealircd.com/viewtopic.php?t=329

You tried reading this thread ? .

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:11 pm
by tuete
yes, i discovered the thread after posting my problem here, but it didn't help me out really. i did not have to change anything... :(

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:10 pm
by Solutech
Weird , I just linked 2 servers together using the guide and it works fine.

Main Box with services

Code: Select all


link irc.Our-chat2.tk
{
username    *;
hostname   *server2 IP*;
bind-ip     *;
port        6669;
leaf             *;
password-connect "password deleted";
password-receive "password deleted";
class           servers;
};
Secondary box

Code: Select all

link irc.Our-chat.tk
{
username    *;
hostname   server1 IP;
bind-ip     *;
port        6669;
hub            *;
password-connect "password deleted";
password-receive "password deleted";
class           servers;
};
Both linked up aok with no errors except the clock synch bein a bit off lol

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 1:33 pm
by tuete
yes,

linking my two servers whithout services works very fine :D but i can't explain to myself why the link brakes when services (anope 1.7.8 from 127.0.0.1) are connecting... very confusing. i also changed the ports of the link and also the port where the services arre connecting... nothing :?

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:24 pm
by tuete
problem solved, it wasn't a problem but my inconvenience... mixed up hub & leaf in the link blocks.

thx solutech

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:28 pm
by White_Magic
have you got the ulines + listen blocks for the ports??

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:50 pm
by Solutech
no probs glad you got it sorted mate :D