How to ban IPs which don't resolve to hostnames ?

These are old archives. They are kept for historic purposes only.
Post Reply
siyavash
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:15 pm

How to ban IPs which don't resolve to hostnames ?

Post by siyavash » Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:21 pm

When people from some countries connect to my server, they have no "hostname", probably some ISP related issue for them. How can I "disallow" people who don't have "hostname" ? Is it possible ? :?

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth » Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:16 am

For the allow block, set the IP as "NOTHING"... this should work

siyavash
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:15 pm

Post by siyavash » Wed Aug 30, 2006 11:23 pm

Could you please show me the syntax ? I'm not sure what you mean by "NOTHING" :?

Stealth
Head of Support
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Chino Hills, CA, US
Contact:

Post by Stealth » Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:38 am

Code: Select all

allow {
ip "NOTHING";
hostname *;
...

SpaceDoG
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:44 am
Contact:

Post by SpaceDoG » Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:15 am

Stealth I did that and it made it so that almost no one could connect instead of forcing a timeout for a users information to be resolved. It also blocked users from connecting whose name normally resolves.

Syzop
UnrealIRCd head coder
Posts: 1955
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: .nl
Contact:

Post by Syzop » Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:51 pm

What Stealth said is correct though, and it works.

It doesn't have any impact on the time it takes to resolve a host.

So whenever someone could not get in due to this "hosts only" restriction, they would have come online with an IP (not a host) if you didn't have it, nothing else.

So most likely the DNS server was simply down or unreachable of those users. But again, it's not related to this setting(s).

Post Reply